Miami County, Kansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Miami County, Kansas)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kansas
Miami County

Guide to Miami County, Kansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Paola
Organized: August 30, 1855
Parent County(s): Original County
Neighboring Counties
Anderson  • Bates (MO)  • Cass (MO)  • Douglas  • Franklin  • Johnson  • Linn
See County Maps
Courthouse
KansasMiamiCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
200px-Map of Kansas highlighting Miami County svg.bmp
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Miami Native American tribe. The County has Paola as its seat and the County was created August 25, 1855.[1] The County is located in the east central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Miami County Courthouse
201 S. Pearl Street, Suite 102
Meade, Kansas 66701
Phone: 913.294.3976
Miami County Website

Register of Deeds has land records from 1857.
Circuit Court has probate and marriage records from 1857, birth and death records.
Clerk District Court has court and naturalization records. [3]

Miami County, Kansas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1885 1857 1885 1858 1857 1857 1855
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1911. General compliance by 1917.[5]

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in Miami County, Kansas:[7]

Cities
Unincorporated communites
Census-designated places
Townships
  • Marysville
  • Miami
  • Middle Creek
  • Mound
  • Osage
  • Osawatomie
  • Paola
  • Richland
  • Stanton
  • Sugar Creek
  • Ten Mile
  • Valley
  • Wea


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Miami County, Kansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kansas Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1860 4,980
1870 11,725 135.4%
1880 17,802 51.8%
1890 19,614 10.2%
1900 21,641 10.3%
1910 20,030 −7.4%
1920 19,809 −1.1%
1930 21,243 7.2%
1940 19,489 −8.3%
1950 19,698 1.1%
1960 19,884 0.9%
1970 19,254 −3.2%
1980 21,618 12.3%
1990 23,466 8.5%
2000 28,351 20.8%
2010 32,787 15.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Kansas became a territory in 1854 and the first territory census taken was in 1855. It was also enumerated as Kansas Territory in the 1860 Federal Census, although there were 15 counties that were marked with "no population" in them. The state continued to take state censuses after it was admitted to the Union in 1861.[8] See links listed below.

State and Territorial Census Records

Federal Census Records

The 1870 Census was the first Federal Census taken for Kansas after it became a state in 1861.[9] For links to Federal Census indexes, see Kansas Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Online Land Records

For more information see Kansas Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Miami County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


Maps and Gazetteers

Jackson County, MissouriCass County, MissouriBates County, MissouriAnderson CountyLinn CountyFranklin CountyDouglas CountyJohnson CountyMiami, Kansas.JPG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

During the Civil War men from this county enlisted in the 15th Regiment, Kansas Cavalry, Company C.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

For more information, see Kansas Newspapers.

Kansas Newspapers Online

Kansas Newspaper Catalogs

Obituaries

Other Records

Voter Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Miami and click Probate records.


Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Miami County Historical Museum
12 E. Peoria
Paola, KS 66071
Telephone Number: 913-294-4940
Website

Societies

Miami County Genealogy Society
North Side of Square, Box 393
Paola 66071

Osawatomie Historical Society
1000 Main St.
Osawatomie, KS 66064
Telephone Number:913-755-4384

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Miami, Kansas Genealogy and History”, "http://genealogytrails.com/kan/miami/ 9/08/2017."
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Miami, Kansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Miami_County,_Kansas" 9/08/2017.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Miami County, Kansas page 253, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Miami County, Kansas. Page 253 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 236.
  5. “Kansas Research Outline”, (Salt Lake City, Utah: Family History Department, 2000), 40.
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Miami County, Kansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Miami_County,_Kansas#Communities, accessed 25 September 2017.
  8. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 118-119.
  9. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 119.