Miami County, Indiana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Miami County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Miami County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 2, 1832
County Seat Peru
Courthouse
Address Miami County Courthouse
25 North Broadway
Peru, IN 46970
Phone: 756-472-3901
Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


Historical Facts[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1882 1843 1882 1843 1836 1843 1807
Statewide registration for births in 1907 and deaths in Oct 1899. General compliance by 1917.
  • Parent Counties: Formed 2 February 1832 from Cass County and unorganized territory.[2]
  • County Seat: Peru [3]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for the Miami tribe, Kentucky. The County Seat is Peru and was founded 1834. It is located in the North Central area of the state.[4]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships
Ghost towns


Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Fulton  • Wabash  • Grant  • Howard  • Cass

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

March 1843 The Miami County courthouse was destroyed by fire in March of 1843; all records except deeds from 1828 were destroyed.
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
INGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
INGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Indiana Interment
Billion Graves
See Indiana Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1840 3,048
1850 11,304 270.9%
1860 16,851 49.1%
1870 21,052 24.9%
1880 24,083 14.4%
1890 25,823 7.2%
1900 28,344 9.8%
1910 29,350 3.5%
1920 28,668 −2.3%
1930 29,032 1.3%
1940 27,926 −3.8%
1950 28,201 1.0%
1960 38,000 34.7%
1970 39,246 3.3%
1980 39,820 1.5%
1990 36,897 −7.3%
2000 36,082 −2.2%
2010 36,903 2.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Miami County, Indiana Genealogy census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Peru

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.


Finding More Church Records[edit source]

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Miami County, Indiana Genealogy Church Records in online catalogs like:


Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directory[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

March 1843 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.

For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.

See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.


Finding More Land Records[edit source]

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Miami County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Maps[edit | edit source]

Fulton CountyWabash CountyGrant CountyHoward CountyCass CountyIN MIAMI.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Civil War service men from Miami County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Miami County.

Civil War Book

Bodurtha, Arthur L. , "Military History," Chapter 11 inHistory of Miami County, Indiana , (Chicago: Lewis Pub. Co., 1914.), (page204-241)977.284 H2bFHL Collection  other librariesInternet Archive

World War I[edit | edit source]

World War II[edit | edit source]

Naturalization[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the Miami County courthouse. For more information, see Indiana Probate Records. Online Records


Finding More Probate Records[edit source]

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Miami County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Public Records[edit | edit source]

School Records[edit | edit source]

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Miami County Courthouse
25 North Broadway
Peru, IN 46970
Phone: 756-472-3901

County Health Department has birth, death and burial records. County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1843. [6]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.


For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the family history center directory.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Miami Genealogical Society
PO Box 542
Peru, IN 46970

Miami County Historical Society
51 North Broadway
Peru, IN 46970
Website

Miami Nation of Indians of the State of Indiana
80 W. 6th St.
Peru, IN 46970
Telephone Number: 765-473-9631
Website

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records[edit source]

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Miami County, Indiana Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:


Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

  • Marriage Index G, 1943-1944, has 3 images, each image indexed separately. Look at all 3 images to get names of both spouses and their parents. (For the bride, the other person on the index is the maiden name of her new mother-in-law!)

Death[edit | edit source]

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Miami County, Indiana Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Miami County, Indiana. Page 211-218 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 208-211.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Miami County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Miami_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Miami County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Miami_County,_Indiana 3/29/2017.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Miami County, Indiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Miami_County,_Indiana, accessed 24 December 2019.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Miami County, Indiana 214 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.