Miami-Dade County, Florida Genealogy
Guide to Miami-Dade County, Florida ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Miami-Dade County, Florida|
Location in the state of Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
|Founded||January 18, 1836|
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Cemeteries
- 5.2 Census
- 5.3 Church
- 5.4 Court
- 5.5 Immigration
- 5.6 Land
- 5.7 Local Histories
- 5.8 Maps
- 5.9 Military
- 5.10 Newspapers
- 5.11 Obituaries
- 5.12 Probate
- 5.13 Taxation
- 5.14 Vital Records
- 5.15 Societies and Libraries
- 5.16 Websites
- 5.17 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Miami-Dade County, Florida Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for Francis L. Dade, a soldier killed in 1835 in the Second Seminole War. Miami is the county seat and the county was created January 18, 1836. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
Dade County had a record loss of unknown cause or extent before it became Miami-Dade County.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The following web site may have additional information on Miami-Dade County cemeteries.
- Interment.net Florida cemetery records
Census[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Miami-Dade County, Florida Genealogy census records online, see: Florida Census.
- 1783 Spanish Census USGenWeb
- 1821 Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
- 1823 Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
- 1880 Census African Born Blacks and Mulattos USGenWeb
- Federal Census Information from National Archives USGenWeb
- State Census Information from Florida State Archives USGenWeb
- Census of Pensioners Revolutionary Military Service USGenWeb
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.
Court[edit | edit source]
Immigration[edit | edit source]
- 1930 - 1942 United States, Florida, Index to Alien Arrivals by Airplane at Miami, 1930-1942 at FamilySearch — index
- 1944 - 1945 FamilySearch Florida and South Carolina, Airplane Arrival Manifests, 1944-1945
NARA Ships Passenger Lists
These passenger lists cover:
- 1834 - 1897 Immigration of Russians to the United States
- 1/12/1846 -12/31/1851 Irish Famine
- 1850 - 1897 Germans to the United States
- 1855 - 1900 Italians to the United States
Land[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Miami-Dade County Recorder This site allows you to make a search of their records which includes, deeds, probate, mortgages, etc. Some items are digitized for viewing.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Miami-Dade County, Florida Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.
Maps[edit | edit source]
- 1821-1997 Maps of Florida
- 1870 Gray's Atlas Panhandle Portion of StateUSGenWeb
- 1882 Rand McNally Panhandle Portion of StateUSGenWeb
- Exploring Florida, FCIT Maps University of South Florida
Military[edit | edit source]
- Miami-Dade County Military Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Florida State Military Files USGenWeb
- Florida state pension records from various wars Pension Transcriptions USGenWeb
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861 - 1865 - Florida Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 - Florida Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1883 - Miami-Dade County Pensioners on the Roll as of January 1, 1883 (Genealogy Trails)
- 1885 - 1955 - Florida Confederate Veterans and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1955 at FamilySearch — images only
World War I[edit | edit source]
- Miami-Dade County Civilian Draft Registration - Scroll down to WWI. (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1917 - 1920 - Florida, World War I Navy Card Roster, 1917-1920 at FamilySearch — index and images
World War II[edit | edit source]
- Miami-Dade County World War II Army Enlistees - Scroll down to WWII. (USGenWeb Archives)
Korean War[edit | edit source]
- Miami-Dade County Korean War Casualties (Genealogy Trails)
- Florida Casualties in the Korean Conflict distantcousin.com
Vietnam War[edit | edit source]
- Miami-Dade County Vietnam War Casualties (Genealogy Trails)
- Florida Casualties in the Vietnam War distantcousin.com
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Miami-Dade County, Florida Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Early Florida Newspapers at the Florida State Library USGenWeb
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- U.S. Hidden Ancestors Obituaries
- USGenWeb Obituaries Project Obituary transcriptions from Florida counties
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records are held by the Miami-Dade County, Florida Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Miami-Dade County, Florida Genealogy Courthouse. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
- 1784 – 1990 Florida Probate Records 1784-1990 at FamilySearch — images
- 1810 – 1974 Florida Wills and Probate Records 1810-1974 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Florida Vital Records
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.
Birth Records[edit | edit source]
Death Records[edit | edit source]
- 1877 - 1939 Florida, Deaths, 1877-1939 at FamilySearch — index
- 1900 - 1921 Florida, Deaths and Burials, 1900-1921 at FamilySearch — index
- 1877 - 1998 Florida, Death Index, 1877-1998 at FamilySearch — index
Divorce Records[edit | edit source]
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
- 1802 - 1998 - Florida, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1837 - 1974 Florida, Marriages, 1837-1974 at FamilySearch — index
- 1830 - 1993 Florida, Marriages, 1830-1993 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1830 - 1957 - Florida, County Marriages, 1830-1957 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1822 - 1875 and 1927 - 2001 Florida, Marriage Index, 1822-1875 and 1927-2001 at FamilySearch — index
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
- The Genealogical Society of Greater Miami, Inc.
PO Box 565404
Miami, FL 33256-5404
Phone: 786-519-7476 (Text or Voice Mail only)
- Jewish Genealogical Society of Greater Miami
8405 SW 107th Ave. 313
Miami, FL 33173
- Miami Springs Historical Society & Museum
PO Box 660022
Miami Springs, FL 33166
- Florida Historical Society
- Florida State Genealogical Society
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Homestead Florida Family History Center
- Miami Florida Family History Center
- Miami Lakes Florida Family History Center
- Miami Shores Florida Family History Center
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Florida Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Florida Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Miami-Dade County, Florida (USGenWeb Archives)
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Dade County, Florida Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Miami-Dade County (FLGenWeb Project, Inc.)
- Miami-Dade County, Florida (Genealogy Trails)
- Miami-Dade County FL Genealogy (LDS Genealogy}
References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Miami-Dade County, Florida . Page 133-137 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 143-145.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Miami Dade County, Florida Page 136 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Miami-Dade_County,_Florida 04/25/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Miami-Dade County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Miami-Dade_County,_Florida 04/25/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Miami-Dade County, Florida," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Miami-Dade_County,_Florida, accessed 30 January 2019.