Meurthe-et-Moselle, France Genealogy
Guide to Meurthe-et-Moselle Department ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
|France Research Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
- 1 History
- 2 Localities (Communes)
- 3 Church Records and Civil Registration (Registres Paroissiaux et Etat Civil) Online
- 4 Online Census Records
- 5 Online Local Databases and Extracted Records
- 6 Microfilm Records of the FamilySearch Library
- 7 Writing for Records
- 8 Learning to Read Enough French, German, or Latin to Do Genealogy
- 9 Search Strategy
- 10 Genealogical Societies and Help Groups
- 11 Websites
- 12 References
History[edit | edit source]
At the end of the Franco-Prussian War Meurthe-et-Moselle was created in 1871 from parts of the former departments of Moselle and Meurthe which remained French territory. The current boundary between Meurthe-et-Moselle and Moselle was the border between France and Germany from 1871 to 1919 and again between 1940 and 1944. The only subsequent change took place in 1997 and involved the incorporation of the little commune of Han-devant-Pierrepont which had previously fallen within the Meuse department.
Localities (Communes)[edit | edit source]
Church Records and Civil Registration (Registres Paroissiaux et Etat Civil) Online[edit | edit source]
The vast majority of your research will be in church records and civil registration. For more information on these records and how to use them, read France Church Records and France Civil Registration. Additional instructions and practice activities are available:
- Alsace-Lorraine - Activity, Answer Key
- Alsace-Lorraine: Department Archive Records Online - Instruction
Fortunately, these records are available online from the archives of each department:
Here is the website for the Department Archives of Muerthe-et-Moselle, where you will find these records.
See Using France Online Department Archives for step by step instructions on finding and reading these records. For a demonstration of navigating archives websites, watch the video, Using France Department Archives Online.
Online Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records can support your search in civil and church records. They can help identify all family members. When families have similar names they help determine which children belong in each family. See France Census.
Online Local Databases and Extracted Records[edit | edit source]
Groups devoted to genealogy have also extracted and/or indexed records for specific localities, time periods, religious groups, etc. Since church records at the departmental archives are generally not indexed, you might find an index here that will speed up your searching.
- FamilySearch Collections:
- 1536-1897 - France, Protestant Church Records, 1536-1897 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1542-1900 - France, Civil Registration, Various Communes, 1542-1900 at FamilySearch — index
- Tout en Un (All in One) Online Databases Check for online databases and records in right column. Check back occasionally to see if new databases have become available.
- Filae, index and images, ($).
- Tout en Un (All in One) Local Databases Here you may find extracted/translated records, record indexes, and other helpful records such as cemetery, land, or military records.
- Geneanet Collaborative Indexes Search by locality (parish or commune).
- Association des Releveurs Bénévoles pour la Recherche et l'Entraide (ARBRE), Meurthe Database
- Association des Releveurs Bénévoles pour la Recherche et l'Entraide (ARBRE), Moselle Database
- Actes en ligne 54 Database
- Jean Lorrain, généalogie Database
- Norma Alosi, Seichamps, Meurthe-et-Moselle Database
- Alsatians-Lorrainers who have opted for German nationality (1872-1873)
Microfilm Records of the FamilySearch Library[edit | edit source]
The church and civil registration records have all been microfilmed. Currently, they are being digitized, and plans are to complete that project by 2020. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you. To find a microfilm: Click on Meurthe-et-Moselle , find and click on "Places within France, Meurthe-et-Moselle," and choose your locality from the list.
Writing for Records[edit | edit source]
Online records tend to cover only the time before 100 years, due to privacy laws. You can write to civil registration offices and local churches who might honor requests for more recent records of close family members for the purpose of genealogy.
For a civil registration office, address your request to:
Monsieur l'officier de l'état-civil
Mairie de (Town)
(Postal code) (Town)
For a parish church:
Monsieur le Curé
(Church --see The Catholic Directory for church name and address)
(Town) (Postal Code) France
For other addresses and for help writing your request in French, use French Letter Writing Guide.
Learning to Read Enough French, German, or Latin to Do Genealogy[edit | edit source]
It's easier than you think! You do not have to be fluent in French or German to use these records, as there is only a limited vocabulary used in them. By learning a few key phrases, you will be able to read them adequately. Because part of this region once belonged to Germany, many records are written in German.
German[edit | edit source]
Here are some resources for learning to read German Records:
- German Genealogical Word List
- Reading German Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Kurrent Letters
- Reading German Handwritten Records Lesson 2: Making Words in Kurrent
- Reading German Handwritten Records Lesson 3: Reading Kurrent Documents
- Old German Script Part 1, Part 2, Part 3 (German Church and Civil Records)
- German Church and Civil Records
- German Script Tutorial
French[edit | edit source]
Here are some resources for learning to read French records.
There is a three-lesson course in reading handwriting in old French records:
- Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 1: The French Alphabet,
- Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 2: Key Words and Phrases
- Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 3: Reading French Records
These lessons focus on reading church record and civil registration records:
Another resource is the French Records Extraction Manual, with this linked Table of Contents. You will be able to practice on actual documents.
- FRENCH RECORDS EXTRACTION MANUAL
- Chapter 1: OLD FRENCH RECORDS
- Chapter 2: PARISH CHRISTENING AND CIVIL BIRTH ENTRIES
- Chapter 3: MARRIAGE ENTRIES
- Chapter 4: OTHER ENTRIES
- Chapter 5: FRENCH HANDWRITING AND SPELLING
- Chapter 6: NAME IDENTIFICATION
- Chapter 7: GENDER
- Chapter 8: DATES
Latin[edit | edit source]
Some Catholic church records will be in Latin.
Search Strategy[edit | edit source]
- Search for the relative or ancestor you selected. When you find his birth record, search for the births of his brothers and sisters.
- Next, search for the marriage of his parents. The marriage record will have information that will often help you find the birth records of the parents.
- You can estimate the ages of the parents and search for their birth records.
- Search the death registers for all known family members.
- Repeat this process for both the father and the mother, starting with their birth records, then their siblings' births, then their parents' marriages, and so on.
- If earlier generations (parents, grandparents, etc.) do not appear in the records, search neighboring parishes.
Genealogical Societies and Help Groups[edit | edit source]
- Meurthe-et-Moselle Wiki GenWeb Associations
- Meurthe-et-Moselle Forums
- Southern Europe Genealogy Research Community
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Tout en Un Meurthe-et-Moselle
- GenWeb, Meurthe-et-Moselle Portal
- Cousins 54
- Geneanet Surname Search
- France Geneawiki Genealogical Sources includes instructional discussions of various records available.
- French Republican Calendar. This site will help you translate dates used by France from 24 October 1793 to 31 December 1805.
- There are parallel articles also available on the French Language Wiki. Because they are maintained by different authors, links may be added there that do not appear here. Generally, the articles translate automatically to English when accessed.
- History of the Jews d'Alsace et de Lorraine
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Meurthe-et-Moselle," Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Meurthe-et-Moselle (accessed October 31, 2018).