Meopham, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Kent
Kent Parishes
Meopham

Guide to Meopham, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Meopham, Kent
Meopham St John the Baptist Kent.jpg
Meopham St John the Baptist Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Toltingtrough
County Kent
Poor Law Union North Aylesford
Registration District North Aylesford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1671
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shoreham
Diocese Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of Arches, Croydon and Shorham; Post-1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History

Meopham is a village and civil parish in the Gravesham district of Kent Meopham Wikipedia

Meopham St John the Baptist is an Ancient Parish and the village and civil parish has one of the longest village streets in Kent. The linear  village extends seven miles in length and includes the settlements of Hook Green, The Street (Dodmore), Meopham Green, Culverstone, Camer (Camer Park) and the neighbouring ancient parish of Nursted, Kent  (Nurstead Court) .

The church dates from 1320-1325 and was rebuilt in 1326 after an earthquake and subsequently restored in 1858 and 1874. It is designated as a grade I listed building by English Heritage.The parish church of St John the Baptist has been designated as a grade I listed builing British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 3 (1797), pp. 356-367 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

The Mount Zion Baptist Church dates from 1828 and is in Meopham Green; the South Street Baptist Church is in Culverstone and the Roman Catholic Church of St Paul was consecrated in 1965.

See Meopham North West Kent Family History Society which includes other places of worship in Meopham and Meopham St John the Baptist

MEOPHAM (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of North Aylesford, hundred of ToltingTrough, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 5½ miles (S.) from the town of Gravesend. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

North Aylesford Registration District

Strood Registration District

Strood and Hoo Registration District

Chatham Registration District

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Meopham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Canterbury PRs = England, Kent, Canterbury Parish Registers, 1538-1986 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP Kent = Kent Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Canterbury = Kent Canterbury Archdeaconry Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP East Kent = East Kent Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Meopham Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1911
1538-1911
1538-1911
FS Canterbury PRs 1538-1986
1538-1986
1538-1986
FS BTs
1560-1911
1560-1911
1560-1911
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP Kent 1538-1988
1538-1997
1538-2010
FMP Canterbury 1538-1918
1538-1934
1538-1998
FMP East Kent

1538-1754
1813-1841
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Kent Online Parish Clerks has indexes available for select parishes. Records are also available at the Kent Archives.

Census records

Census returns for Meopham 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

North Aylesford Poor Law Union, Kent (renamed Strood)

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Gillingham Family History Centre, Kent

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 291-295. Date accessed: 17 April 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk