Menard County, Texas Genealogy
Guide to Menard County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Menard County, Texas|
Location in the state of Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||22 January, 1858|
|Address|| Menard County Courthouse|
PO Box 1028
Menard, Texas 76859
- 1 County Information
- 2 History
- 3 Places / Localities
- 4 Resources
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
Menard County, Texas Record Dates
Menard County Courthouse
PO Box 1028
Menard, Texas 76859
County Clerk has birth and court records from 1900, marriage records from 1878, death records from 1917, divorce records from 1889, probate and land records from 1880
County or District Clerk
P.O. Box 1038
This is the third and present day courthouse for Menard County, Texas. Built in 1931, it replaced the old 1885 building and provided much needed jobs for the community at a reported wage of 25 cents per hour.
The county was awarded grant funds in 2004 from the Texas Historic Courthouse Preservation Program.A major part of the renovation was completed in 2007 and county officials returned to the courthouse.
- 1885 and 1931 Pictures of 1885 and 1931 courthouse - Menard TXGenWeb site
- History of Menard Co. Courthouse - Menard TXGenWeb site
- County Clerk Contact Information - Menard TXGenWeb site
- Menard Courthouse - Texas Escapes
Menard County; PO Box 1028; Menard, TX 76859; Ph. 915.396.4682 Details: (Co Clk has b & ct rec from 1900, m rec from 1878, d rec from 1917, div rec from 1889, pro & land rec from 1880)
1867--The first permanent Anglo-American settlement was Menardville in 1867. Unfortunately, they were not able to establish their own government until 1871, when Menardville was officially named the county seat.
Menard County was named in honor of Michel Branamour Menard (1805-1856), who was an early settler of Galveston, TX. Located in Central Texas, Menard County is on the edge of the Edwards Plateau and lies within the Colorado River basin.
- Menard County Historical Timeline - Menard TXGenWeb site
- Menard County Formation - Menard TXGenWeb site
1858--Menard County was created 22 January 1858 from Bexar Land District.
- County seat: Menard 
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
- Ft. McKavett History from Newspapers - Menard TXGenWeb site
- Scabtown - Menard TXGenWeb site
- Weather in McKavett - Weather conditions for area
- Fort McKavett Military Post - Menard TXGenWeb site
- Fort McKavett State Historical Park - Website for Fort McKavett State Park
- Friends of Fort McKavett - Organization to attract attention to Fort McKavett. Good news articles and history.
- Ft McKavett and the Hill Country - Texas Beyond History Fort site
- Post on the San Saba - Texas Beyond History site
- Hext History - Menard TXGenWeb Site. History of the community. Also known as Wagnerville.
- Menard - From Texas Escapes
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|FindAGrave||Family History Library||FindAGrave|
|BillionGraves (name)||Cemeteries of TX|
|GenWeb Archives||Texas Cemeteries|
|Names in Stone|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
- Church of Christ
- First Baptist Church - 300 Tipton Street, Menard - (325) 396-4701
- First United Methodist Church - 201 Gay Street, Menard - (325) 396-2452
- Lutheran Church
- Menard Cowboy Church - Church website. 2711 Ryan Road, Menard - (325) 396-2319
- Sacred Heart Catholic Church (Historic)
- Sacred Heart Catholic Church
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local histories are available for Menard County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site.
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Menard County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Online Probate Records
- 1800 – 2000 Texas Wills and Probate Records 1800-2000 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1800 – 1990 Texas Probate Records 1800-1990 at FamilySearch — images
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1903 - 1997 Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index) - FamilySearch
- 1903 - 1935 Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch
- 1840 - 1981 Texas, Births and Christenings, 1840-1981 - FamilySearch
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1802-2010 - Texas, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1814 - 1909 and 1966 - 2011 Texas Marriage Collection 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837 - 1973 Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 FamilySearch record collection
- 1837 - 1977 Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 FamilySearch
- 1966 - 2010 Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 FamilySearch record collection
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1890 - 1976 Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 with images
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976.
- 1964 - 1998 Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 no images Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates
- 1977 - 1986 Texas Deaths 1977-1986 at FamilySearch.org — index
- Menard County, TX Death Index
Menard County, Texas Death Index sorted by surname from Menard TXGenWeb site (partial listing)
- 1968 - 2005 Texas Divorce Records 1968 - 2005 (index) Hidden Ancestors
- 1968 - 2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 at FamilySearch.org — index
Societies and Libraries
Menard Genealogical Society
P O Box 714
Menard, TX 76859
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Menard County TXGenWeb
- FamilySearch Catalog - The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.
- Menard TXGenWeb
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Menard County, Texas. Page 670 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Menard News and Messenger of March 26, 1931
- Round IV Grant receipient - Texas Historical Commission Report
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).