Melksham, Wiltshire Genealogy
Guide to Melksham, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Melksham|
|Parish registers: 1568|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1605; 1622|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Wiltshire Record Office|
MELKSHAM (St. Michael), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Melksham, and N. divisions of Wiltshire, 28 miles (N. W.) from Salisbury, and 95 (W. by S.) from London. There are chapels of ease at Earl-Stoke and Seend, and the tythings of Beanacre, Blackmore, Caunonhold, and Woodrow are included. There are two chantry chapels, and a district church was consecrated at Shaw Whitley in 1837. Also there are places of worship in the parish for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, and Wesleyans. The union of Melksham comprises six parishes.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Melksham, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.|
|Melksham, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848)pp. 283-287 Date accessed: 07 October 2013
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
- 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.