Melbury Osmond, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Dorset Parishes
Melbury Osmond

Guide to Melbury Osmond, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Melbury Osmond, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Yetminster
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Beaminster
Registration District Beaminster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1580
Bishop's Transcripts: 1751
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shaftesbury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Parish History

MELBURY-OSMOND, a village and a parish in Beaminster district, Dorset. The village stands 2½ miles NNW of Evershot railroad station, and 6¾ SW by S of Sher. borne.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Melbury Osmond, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
1580-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1889 Ancestry[3] 1813-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1929 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1731-1880 Ancestry[6] 1731-1837 Joiner[7]

Melbury Osmond, Dorset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[8]
Melbury Osmond, Dorset Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1731-1880

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 08 July 2103.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.
  7. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 24 June 2012.
  8. 'Dorset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.