To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Meland Parish, Hordaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Meland, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Meland Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Bergenhus
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1763: Bergenhus, 1763-1919: Søndre Bergenhus
Fylke 1919-Present Hordaland
Region add here
Prestegjeld Alversund
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Alversund
Fogderi Nordhordland
Sorenskriveri Nordhordland
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

See Alversund and Hamre

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666 This census was taken by the local parish priests. Hamre clerical district included Hamre, Hosanger, Åsane, Meland, Mo, Seim, and Sund. Microfilm copies are at the Family History Library on Film 122972 Item 1. It is available as a database at Digitalarkivet database and also as scanned images.
  • 1801 Census Hamre clerical district included Hamre, Alversund, Åsane, and Meland. Microfilm copies are at the Family History Library on Film 123002 Item 3. It is available as a searchable database at Digitalarkivet. 1801-telling for 1254 Hammer
  • 1835 Census Hamre clerical district included Hamre, Alversund, Åsane, and Meland. Microfilm copies are at the Family History Library on Film 1694692 Item 5.
  • 1845 Census Hamre clerical district included Hamre, Alversund, Åsane, and Meland. Microfilm copies are at the Family History Library on Film 1694692 Item 6.
  • 1865 Census Hamre clerical district included Hamre, Alversund, Åsane, and Meland. Microfilm copies are at the Family History Library on Film 123072 Item 3. It is available as a searchable database at Digitalarkivet. 1865-telling for 1254 Hammer

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Kleiveland, Geir, 1948-: Homlong, Beate, 1965-: Mellom bakkar og berg: gard og ætt i Meland.

Bygdebøkene inneheld gards- og ættesoge for alle dei 50 matrikkelgardane og menneska som har budd der. Ættesogene - folket på garden - har grunding informasjon om alle familiane som har budd på dei ulike gardane, frå 1500-talet og fram til 2004. Band I omfattar gardane nord på Holsnøy. Gardane søraust på øya, og Flatøy, finn ein i band II, medan gardane på vestsida av Holsnøy er omtala i band III.

Farm histories and genealogies of families living in Meland, Hordaland co., Norway from the 1500s to 2004. Med register i hver bok. FHL 948.32/M1 D2

Luker, Elna Fløisand: Melands slekter: opplysninger fra Hamre kirkebøker, Nordland skifteprotokoller og panteregistre etc. A genealogy of some families from Meland in Hamre clerical district in Hordaland county. Includes extracts from church, probate, and court records. FHL 948.32/M1 D2

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

36 Aadland nordre 1 Aasbø

20 Birkevoldene 34 Bjørndal 17 Bjørnestad 7 Brakstad indre

21 Dale nedre 19 Dalstøen

14 Erstad 40 Espetveit

5 Fløksand 25 Fosse 23 Frekhaug

39 Gaustad 28 Grasdal 35 Gripsgaard

31 Haatoft 2 Hanevik 30 Hestdal 29 Hestnes 9 Hjartaas 10 Holme 15 Hopland

10 Knappen

24 Langeland 4 Lervik

22 Mjaatveit 27 Moldeklev 16 Mæland 32 Mørtveit

23 Nordregaarden

38 Refskar 13 Røisæter

19 Sakstad nedre 33 Sjurdal 41 Skarpeneset 3 Stien 27 Stølen 26 Sundet

15 Træet 12 Tveiten nedre

8 Volle

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Irvine, Fredna Tweedt, 1910-: Brakstad, Albert John, 1909-: A Norwegian and American family- Myksvoll, Tweedt, Tweet.

Cover title: Myksvoll, Teedt, Tweet.

Christian Jonsen (1813-1895) of Myksvoll, son of Jon Kristensen and Synneve Hansdtr, married Ambjørg Johannesdtr in 1839, and moved to Myksvoll farm near Bergen, Norway, where they lived for about thirteen years before immigrating to Walnut Grove, Minnesota. The farm was left to a son, John Christiansen (1840-1919), whose descendants assumed the name of the farm--Myksvoll--as a surname. Descendants in Norway lived chiefly near Bergen, Bergen County and also in Meland parish, Hordaland County, Norway. Descendants in the United States (using the surname Tweedt, Tweet, or Tweed) lived in Minnesota, Wisconsin, Idaho, Washington, Oregon, California, Arizona and elsewhere.

Includes index.

Includes Brakstad, Iversen (Iverson), McCormick, Peterson, Shafer and related families. FHL 929.273 M994. To view a digital version click here

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

From 1702-1848: Records are found in Nordhordaland, 1702-1910 judicial district.

1848-1895: Records are found in Midhordaland judicial district which was created from Nordhordaland.

1800-1852: Some of the farms in this parish belonged to Lysekloster Estate. If the probate is not found in the district above look at Hardanger og Voss where the probates for Lysekloster were kept.

1773-1810: Clerical probate records are found in Nordhordaland Deanery.

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names