To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Meesden, Hertfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Meesden, Hertfordshire)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Meesden, Hertfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Meesden, Hertfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Edwinstree
County Hertfordshire
Poor Law Union Buntingford
Registration District Royston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1737
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Buntingford
Diocese Pre-1845 - London; Post-1844 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Hertfordshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Meesden (St. Mary), is a parish, in the Royston district of Hertfordshire; it is adjacent to Essex. It is 6 1/2 miles from the Buntingford railway station.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Meesden parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS BTs = England, Herefordshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1583-1898 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Herefordshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Meesden Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs 1583-1898
1583-1898
1583-1898
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-1935
1538-1936
1541-1992
NBI



1813-1839
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

The Herefordshire Archive and Records Centre houses many parish registers. See The records we hold for a list of records available there. How to contact them:

Herefordshire Archive and Records Centre
Fir Tree Lane
Rotherwas
Hereford HR2 6LA
Telephone: +44 (0)1432 260750
Email: archives@herefordshire.gov.uk
Website: Herefordshire Archive and Records Centre

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hertfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Meesden on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 January 2014.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

FamilySearch