| Meek-Eaton Black Archives
- Florida A&M University
445 Gamble Street
Tallahassee, Florida 32307 USA
Hours: Monday-Friday 9:00 to 5:00
Map, directions, parking, and public transportation:
- Map: Google map: Meek-Eaton Black Archives
- from the north on US-319 (Thomasville, GA) Turn onto US-319/GA-35 south toward Tallahassee. At the border it becomes US-319/FL-61/Thomasville Rd. In Tallahassee turn slight left onto N Monroe St/US-27 S/FL-63. Continue to follow N Monroe St/US-27 S, 0.4 mi. Turn right onto E Tennessee St/US-90 W/FL-10/FL-20, 0.5 mi. Turn left onto N Macomb St, 0.6 mi. Stay straight to go onto Railroad Ave, 0.3 mi. Railroad Ave becomes Wahnish Way, 0.2 mi. Turn left onto Gamble St, 0.1 mi. The Black Archives at 445 GAMBLE ST is on the left.
- from the east on I-10 (Lake City, FL) Merge onto I-10 W/FL-8 W toward Tallahassee. Merge onto US-90 W/FL-10 via EXIT 209A toward Tallahassee, 8.7 mi. Turn left onto N Macomb St, 0.6 mi. Stay straight to go onto Railroad Ave, 0.3 mi. Railroad Ave becomes Wahnish Way, 0.2 mi. Turn left onto Gamble St, 0.1 mi. The Black Archives at 445 GAMBLE ST is on the left.
- from the south on US-319 (Crawfordville, FL) Go north on Crawfordville Hwy/US-319 N/FL-369 toward Tallahassee. Continue to follow FL-369. FL-369 becomes FL-61, 2.2 mi. Stay straight to go onto S Adams St/FL-363, 0.5 mi. Turn left onto W Orange Ave/FL-373, 0.4 mi. Take the 1st right onto Wahnish Way, 1.1 mi. Turn right onto Gamble St, 0.1 mi. The Black Archives at 445 GAMBLE ST is on the left.
- from the west on I-10 (Marianna, FL) Merge onto I-10 E/FL-8 E toward Tallahassee. Take the US-27 S/Monroe St exit, EXIT 199, toward State Capitol/Fairgrounds/Civic Center, 0.6 mi. Turn right onto US-27 S/FL-63/N Monroe St. Continue to follow US-27 S/N Monroe St, 3.3 mi. Turn right onto E Tennessee St/US-90 W/FL-10/FL-20, 0.5 mi. Turn left onto N Macomb St, 0.6 mi. Stay straight to go onto Railroad Ave, 0.3 mi. Railroad Ave becomes Wahnish Way, 0.2 mi. Turn left onto Gamble St, 0.1 mi. The Black Archives at 445 GAMBLE ST is on the left.
- Visitor parking: Obtain a visitor's parking pass at Parking Services, 2400 Wahnish Way, south of the Hansel E. Tookes Recreation Center (same building as Police Department), telephone 850-561-2203.
- Public transportation: Tallahassee StarMetro bus routes D (Dogwood) and M (Moss) run on streets adjacent to the Meek-Eaton Black Archives.
Internet sites and databases:
The Meek-Eaton Black Archives is a statewide and southeastern states regional center for researching African American history and institutions: over 500,000 manuscripts, rare books, journals, magazines, maps, newspapers, and photographs.
The full formal name is the Carrie Meek - James N. Eaton, Sr. Southeastern Regional Black Archives Research Center and Museum. It is a specialty museum and archives which houses regalia and printed material about the history of Africans and African Americans. It specializes in the collection, preservation, and dissemination of information significant to African Americans and their experiences and contributions in Florida and throughout the southeastern United States.
If you cannot visit or find a source at the Meek-Eaton Black Archives, a similar source may be available at one of the following.
- National Archives Southeast Region (Atlanta), Atlanta, GA, records of federal agencies and courts for Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee, censuses, ships lists, naturalizations, Indian records, and military records.
- Dallas Public Central Library, Dallas, TX, outstanding genealogical collection with records for more than Texas, including Florida, Oklahoma, the South, Mid-Atlantic, and New England states.
- State Archives of Florida, Tallahassee, a great Florida genealogy collection including state and county documents. This is the place to start research on Florida residents.
- State Library of Florida, Tallahassee, 700,000 titles: published books, government papers, magazines, and newspapers, 2000 Florida maps, and photos.
- Leon County Department of Health, Tallahassee, birth, death, and burial records.
- Leon County Clerk of Circuit and County Courts, Tallahassee, marriages, divorce, probate, court, and land from 1825, military discharges since 1914.
- Leon County Coroner and Medical Examiner, Tallahassee, suspicious or unusual deaths.
- U.S. District Court Northern District of Florida, Tallahassee, recent criminal and civil cases.
- Tallahassee Genealogical Society about them, resources, publications, and queries.
- Jewish Genealogical Society of Tallahassee facilitates genealogical research activities by providing general knowledge of research sources.
- Tallahassee African American Genealogy Group promotes the study of African American genealogy and history.
- Tallahassee Historical Society history of Tallahassee, Big Bend, and Florida.
- LeRoy Collins Leon County Public Library houses the Tallahassee Genealogical Society collection.
- Trinity United Methodist Church – The Heritage Room, Tallahassee, parish registers online.
- Repositories in surrounding counties: in Florida: Gadsden, Jefferson, Liberty, Wakulla, in Georgia: Grady, and Thomas.
- Florida Health Bureau of Vital Statistics, Jacksonville, has selected births from 1893; marriages and divorces from 1927; and selected deaths from 1877.
- Florida Historical Society, Cocoa, see Alma C. Field Library of Florida History.
- Florida State Genealogical Society, Maitland, pioneer database, webinars, and speakers bureau.
- West Florida Genealogical Society, Pensacola see also West FL Public Library Genealogy Branch.
- Alma C. Field Library of Florida History, Cocoa, Florida books, maps, photos, family histories, manuscripts, photos, Mosquito Beaters, Alice Strickland, and FL State Geneal. Soc. collections.
- Charlton W. Tebeau Library of Florida History, Miami, is strong on the history of southern Florida. They also have many documents related to Cuba and the Caribbean.
- Hillsborough County Historical Commission, Tampa, their Museum, History and Genealogy Library has the best indexes of Florida residents in the state.
- Indian River County Main Library, Vero Beach, is a big genealogy collection that rivals Orlando in size and quality. County obituary index, censuses, 35,000 titles, 9 computers, wireless access.
- Jacksonville Public Library Main Branch, the southeastern USA is covered well, including history, biography, genealogy, federal censuses and indexes. This is the oldest Floridiana collection.
- Orlando Public Library is the largest genealogy reference collection in FL. American genealogical sources are covered well, including censuses, biographies, histories, and genealogies.
- P.K. Yonge Library of Florida History, Gainsville, includes Spanish colonial sources, United States borderland records, and the best Florida newspapers collection in the state.
- Polk County Historical and Genealogical Library, Bartow, is a very good genealogical collection.
- St. Augustine Historical Society Research Library has an excellent collection of records of the first Spanish colonists of east coast Florida, including parish register BMDs back to 1594.
- University of South Florida Tampa Library Special Collections have a good selection of published Florida local histories and Hillsborough County records.
- University of West Florida Archives and West Florida History Center, Pensacola, is an excellent research facility. Start here for records of the earliest European settlers in the FL panhandle.
- Volusia County Public Library Daytona Beach Regional has a very good genealogy collection not just for Florida, but also for the entire eastern seaboard.
- Wakulla County Historical Society - Genealogy Group, Crawfordville, assist genealogists searching in our area of Florida.
- West Florida Public Library Genealogy Branch, Pensacola, S.E. USA with a good collection for N.E. and central states, Civil War, African Americans, family histories, and S.E. American Indians.
- Repositories in surrounding states (or nations): Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, Bahamas, and Cuba.
- Mobile Municipal Archives, Mobile, AL, has records of early Alabama/Florida settlers: Spanish, French, and Anglo. This is the premier library for Gulf Coast settlers from Louisiana to Florida.
- Thomasville Genealogical, History and Fine Arts Library, Thomasville, GA, southern states family history material including Florida.
- Ellen Payne Odom Genealogy Library, Moultrie, GA, emphasizes Scottish Americans, but also has a good basic American genealogy collection including Florida.