Medstead, Hampshire Genealogy
Guide to Medstead, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Pre-1834 - Fawley; Post-1833 - Bishop's Sutton|
|Poor Law Union||Alton|
|Parish registers: 1560|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1780|
|Probate Court||Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of Old Alresford with New Alresford and Medstead; Post-1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester|
|Location of Archive|
|Hampshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
MEDSTED (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Alton, hundred of Fawley, Alton and N. divisions of the county of Southampton, 4½ miles (W. S. W.) from Alton..
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Medstead parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = FindMyPast - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|TGEN = The Genealogist - (£) - for Medstead and Medsted|
|MEDSTEAD PARISH Online Records|
|TGEN||1560-1874, 1780-1811||1560-1812, 1780-1811||1812-1865, 1780-1811|
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Genealogy from Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Cresswell, R.J. Cresswell Connections. The family tree of William Cresswell and Jane Jackson married 1813, and their 8 children, some of whom emigrated to New Zealand about 1841,42. William was born about 1783, and the family chart finished in 1907. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian vol. 25, no.2, August 1998, page 122. FHL Ref 942.27 B2h
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
|This section is empty. You can help by adding to it.|
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 280-283. Date accessed: 10 June 2013.
- 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
- 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 20 January 2021.