Medomsley, Durham Genealogy
Guide to Medomsley, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Lanchester|
|Parish registers: 1608|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1766|
|Rural Deanery||Chester le Street|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
MEDOMSLEY, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Lanchester, W. division of Chester ward, N. division of the county of Durham, 2¼ miles (N. E.) from Shotley-Bridge, and 11 (S. W. by W.) from Gateshead.
Additional information: Medomsley a former chapelry in the parish of Lanchester ancient parish has an twelfth century church dedicated to St.Mary Magdalene. The church was restored in 1877-78. Conside and Knitsley are within the parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
The Parish Registers for the period 1608-1987 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Me).
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/176 1766-1846 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at Family Search Historical Records.The Medomsley transcripts contain Ebchester transcripts for 1776-1777, 1781-1782, 1783-1785, 1786-1788. It is necessary to examine the Ebchester Ebchester, Durham transcripts for 1778-1779 DDR/EA/PBT/2/90 elsewhere in the collection.
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.
FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Medomsley on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2103.