Medåker Parish, Västmanland, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Medåker parish, Sweden)
Jump to: navigation, search
Sweden
Västmanland County
Medåker Parish


Guide to Medåker Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

History

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)
Medåker Parish, Västmanland, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Västerås
Pastorat -1921 Medåker, 1922-1961 Medåker och Himmeta, 1962-1970 Medåker, Himmeta and Västra Skedvi, 1971-1974 Arboga stads- and landsförsamlingar and Medåker, 1975- Arboga stads- and landsförsamlingar, Medåker and Götlunda
Län 1634- Västmanland
Landskap Västmanland
Härad Åkerbo
Tingslag -1906 Åkerbo härad, 1906-1928 Västmanlands västra domsaga, 1929-1970 Åkerbo and Skinnskatteberg
Domsaga -1718 Siende, Tuhundra and Åkerbo, 1719-1795 Siende, Tuhundra, Åkerbo and Snevringe, 1796-1857 Åkerbo, 1858-1970 Västmanlands västra, 1971- Köping
Fögderi 1720-1946 Kungsör, 1946- Köping
Kommun 1863-1951 Medåker, 1952-1970 Medåker (storkommun), 1971- Arboga
Militär indelning Lif-Regementets Grenadier-Corps: Kungsörs Kompani, Lif-Regementets Husar-Corps: Lif-Sqvadron, Fellingsbro Kompani
Vestmanlands Regemente: Strömsholms and Kungsörs Kompanier
Extra Soldat-Roteringen
Västmanlands Regemente: Strömsholms and Kungsörs kompanier, -1791 Livregementet Till Häst: Kungsörs and Fellingsbro kompanier
1791- Livregements (Brigadens Lätta Infanteri-) Grenadjärkår: Kungsörs kompani
1791-1834 Livregements (Brigadens Lätta Dragon-) Husarkår: Arboga Skvadron
1834- Livregements (Brigadens Lätta Dragon-)Husarkår: Livsvadronen
NAD Ref Code SE/ULA/11068


Place Names

Bejby, Berga, Byringe

Comminister gården

Dahl, Dahl Norra, Dahl Södra

Ekeby

Fattighuset, Fillinge

Garlinge

Hagby, Hult

Klockaregården

Norra Dahl, Norr Ryby, Prestgården

Ryby Norr, Ryby Södra, Ryby Östra, Röfors

Smedby, Södra Dahl, Södra Ryby

Tveta, Tåby

Wretberga

Ödesberga, Östra Ryby

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Västmanland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Västmanland" and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies


References

Medåker, Husförhörslängd 1835-1844, Ortregister

Jurisdictional Information from: Riksarkivet. "Medåker Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). April 2012 http://www.nad.riksarkivet.se/