To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Mecklenburg County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Mecklenburg County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Charlotte
Organized: November 3, 1762
Parent County(s): Anson[1]
Neighboring Counties
Cabarrus  • Gaston  • Iredell  • Lancaster (SC)  • Lincoln  • Union  • York (SC)
See County Maps
Courthouse
NorthCarolinaMecklenburgCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Nc-mecklenburg.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
John Oliver Cabin, Cades Cove

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Mecklenburg County is located in the southern portion of North Carolina and shares a border with South Carolina. It took its name from the German duchy of Mecklenburg-Strelitz, home of the wife of King George III, Charlotte Sophia.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Mecklenburg County Courthouse
720 E 4th Street
Charlotte, NC 28202-2835
Phone: 704-336-2443
Mecklenburg County Website

Register of Deeds has birth and death records from 1913, marriage records from 1850 and land records from 1763.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, probate and court records from 1930.[3]

Mecklenburg County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1913 1783 1913 1930 1763 1930 1784
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1913. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1762 Mecklenburg County was created 3 November 1762 from Anson County.
  • County seat: Charlotte[5]

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are locations in Mecklenburg County, North Carolina:

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

"In North Germany are two little duchies that go by the name of Mecklenburg, Mecklenburg-Schwerin and Mecklenburg-Strelitz. From Mecklenburg-Strelitz, in the year 1761, went a young princess to be the wife of George the Third and Queen of England, and her name was Charlotte. The marriage was a popular one and there was great rejoicing in England, and after a while the news of it reached the Piedmont section of North Carolina, where the people were just about to make two counties out of one. The name of the old county was Anson, named for Admiral Anson whose good ship carried the young princess, Charlotte, to England. The new county was named Mecklenburg in honor of the queen who had come from old Mecklenburg, in Germany, and to do her still more honor, they called their town Charlotte.”[6]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Mecklenburg County, North Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Presbyterian

  • Bethel Presbyterian Church. Family history & genealogy of these church families. Church is located in Cornelius.
  • Philadelphia Presbyterian Church, Mint Hill, N.C. Organized 1770.[7]
  • Steele Creek Church, Charlotte, N.C. Organized before 1760.[8]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

  • African American Community Photograph Collection. The North Carolina Room at the Charlotte Mecklenburg Library (Charlotte, NC) houses a collection of over 1500 photographs detailing the African American experience in Charlotte.
  • Freedman Bank Records, 1865-1874. Bank records from all 29 branches of the bank of African-American individuals. North Carolina bank locations included Wilmington, Raleigh and New Bern.

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

  • Morrison - Morrison, Janet and Marie Morrison. "Twelve Things We've Learned While Compiling the Rocky River Morrison Genealogies," Rowan County Register, Vol. 12, No. 3 (Aug. 1997):2819. Available at FHL.
  • Morrison - Morrison, Janet and Marie Morrison. Descendants of John (1725?-1777) & Mary (1732-1781) Morrison of Rocky River. Reviewed in Rowan County Register, Vol. 12, No. 3 (Aug. 1997):2830. Available at FHL.
  • Morrison - Morrison, Janet and Marie Morrison. Descendants of James (1726-1804) and Jennet (1735-1810) Morrison of Rocky River. Reviewed in Rowan County Register, Vol. 12, No. 3 (Aug. 1997):2830. Available at FHL.
  • Morrison - Morrison, Janet and Marie Morrison. Descendants of Robert (1728-1810) and Sarah (1739-1816) Morrison of Rocky River. Reviewed in Rowan County Register, Vol. 12, No. 3 (Aug. 1997):2830. Available at FHL.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

  • Mecklenburg County Deeds, various years. (USGenWeb Archives)

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Tompkins, Daniel Augustus. History of Mecklenburg County and the City of Charlotte: From 1740 to 1903, 2 vols. Charlotte, North Carolina: Observer Printing House, 1903-1904. Available at FamilySearch Books Online; FHL; Vol. 1 and Google Books (full-view) and of Vol. 2 at FamilySearch Books Online; and Google Books (full-view).
  • Alexander, John Brevard. The History of Mecklenburg County from 1740 to 1900 [Charlotte, NC: Observer Printing House, 1902]; digital image, Google Books

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

NC Mecklenburg

Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Mecklenburg County for European settlers included:[9]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Mecklenburg County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Mecklenburg County:

- 6th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry,usually known as the Bethel Regiment, Company B
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry,usually known as the Bethel Regiment, Company C
- 6th Regiment7th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 7th Regiment11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company A
- 11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company E
- 11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company H
- 13th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry formerly the 3rd Volunteers., Company B
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Artillery 10th Regiment Volunteers-1st Artillery, Company C
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company C
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Detailed Men, Company E
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Detailed Men, Company F
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Detailed Men, Company D
- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company B
- 4th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company G
- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (63rd Regiment Volunteers), Company F
- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company E
- 6th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company A

World War I

World War II

Vietnam War

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

  • Ferguson, Herman W. "Six Applications for Citizenship, Mecklenburg County, North Carolina," [1823-1824] Rowan County Register, Vol. 12, No. 3 (Aug. 1997):2795-2796. Available at FHL.

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

  • Charlotte Jewish Times. More than 240 issues available online spanning 1979-2000. (DigitalNC.org)
  • Mecklenburg county newspapers. Listing of newspapers published in the county and libraries that hold them. (Library of Congress)
  • Misc. Newspaper transcriptions (NCGenWeb Archives)
  • Real estate and legal notices from Charlotte, North Carolina, newspapers, 1835-1847, Vol. 1. 1835-1847. FamilySearch Books Online
  • Real estate and legal notices from Charlotte, North Carolina, newspapers, 1835-1847, Vol. 2. 1848-1862. FamilySearch Books Online
  • Marriage notices from the Western Democrat, Charlotte, N.C., 1853-1870, an index compiled by Carol Haywood and Rose L. Grantham available online at Family History Library; WorldCat.
  • Mecklenburg County marriages, may be included throughout Carrie Broughton's 6-volume index of the Raleigh Register & State Gazette newspaper (1799-1893). Marriages are listed by year and PDF files are searchable. Available on the North Carolina Digital Collections website.
  • Death notices from the Mecklenburg Jeffersonian, Charlotte, N.C., 1841-1849, an index compiled by Rose L. Grantham and Carol Haywood available online at Family History Library; WorldCat.
  • Death notices from the Western Democrat, Charlotte, N.C., 1853-1870, an index compiled by Carol Haywood and Rose L. Grantham available online at Family History Library; WorldCat.
  • Misc. Mecklenburg County deaths. Deaths extracted from newspapers, late 1800s/early 1900s. (NCGenWeb)

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Yearbooks

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]


Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

  • Public Library of Charlotte-Mecklenburg County
    Website
  • J. Murray Atkins Library
    UNC-Charlotte
    Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Olde Mecklenburg Genealogical Society
    PO Box 32453
    Charlotte, NC 28232-2453
    Website
  • The Steele Creek Genealogical and Historical Society
    PO Box 411711
    Charlotte, NC 28241
    Website
  • Mecklenburg Historical Association
    PO Box 35032
    Charlotte, NC 28235
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/Mecklenburg
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mecklenburg County, North Carolina. Page 511 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mecklenburg County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Daniel Augustus Tompkins, History of Mecklenburg County and the City of Charlotte from 1740 to 1903 [Charlotte, NC: Observer Printing House, 1903], 28-32; digital image, Google Books (http://books.google.com/ : accessed 20 April 2013).
  7. "Philadelphia Presbyterian Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  8. "Steele Creek Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  9. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  10. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.