Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania, Germany Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania Wiki Topics
250px-Kirche in Zittow.JPG
Beginning Research
Record Types
Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Genealogy courses: Learn how to research from an expert in Germany courses.
Find us on
Facebook

Ask a question
Learn what's new
Build the community
Germany
Mecklenburg-Western

Guide to Mecklenburg-Western ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}} {{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

History

Today's state of Mecklenburg--Vorpommern was created after the Second World War by uniting the countries of Mecklenburg-Schwerin, Mecklenburg-Strelitz, and the part of Pomerania west of the Oder-Niesse line.

How to Find Birth, Marriage, and Death Records in Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania

For German Research, You Must Know Your Ancestors' Town

  • To begin using the records of Germany, knowing that your family came from Mecklenburg or Pomerania will not be enough to use the records of Germany. Records are kept on the local level, so you will have to know the town they lived in.
  • Details about the town will also help:
    • the county or "Kreis" of that town,
    • where the closest Evangelical Lutheran or Catholic parish church was (depending on their religion),
    • where the civil registration office ("Standesamt") was, and
    • if you have only a village name, you will need the name of the larger town it was part of.

Research to Find the Town

If you do not yet know the name of the town of your ancestor's birth, there are well-known strategies for a thorough hunt for it.


*Names of Mecklenburg-Schwerin Emigrants 1844-1915


If You Know the Town, Next Use Meyers Gazetteer

Once you know the town name you need, the other facts you need are contained in Meyers Orts- und Verkehrs-lexikon des deutschen Reichs, the gazetteer on which the FamilySearch catalog for Germany is based.


Here is part of an entry from MeyersGaz.org. (The whole entry can be studied at Heusenstamm, MeyersGaz.)

The most important facts here are:

  1. Heusenstamm is in Offenbach Kreis (Kr).
  2. It has its own Standesamt (StdA) or civil registration office.
  3. It has its own Catholic parish church.
  4. By clicking on the "Ecclesiastical" option, we learn that the closest protestant church is 2 miles away in Bieber.


MeyersGaz.png
  • If you find several towns of the same name, checking each one for the birth record of your ancestor may be needed to narrow down the field.

Mecklenburg-Vorpommern

From these historic areas now in Mecklen-Vorpommern
click below on the related article for the region.

233px-Deutschland Lage von Mecklenburg-Vorpommern.svg.png

Former States Now in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern

Karte-Mecklenburg.png

Modern Mecklenburg-Vorpommern

Landkreise Mecklenburg-Vorpommern.png

Administrative Districts

Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania is divided into six rural districts (Kreise), and two urban districts (Kreisfreie Städte).

Rural Districts (Kreise):

Landkreis Rostock, Ludwigslust-Parchim, Mecklenburgische Seenplatte, Nordwestmecklenburg, Vorpommern-Greifswald, Vorpommern-Rügen

Urban Districts (Kreisfreie Städte):

Rostock, Schwerin

Research Tools

Latin Records

Records of the Catholic church will usually be written in Latin:


Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Mecklenburg-Western_Pomerania,_Germany_Genealogy&oldid=3221822"