Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania, Germany Genealogy
Guide to Mecklenburg-Western ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
- 1 History
- 2 How to Find Birth, Marriage, and Death Records in Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania
- 3 For German Research, You Must Know Your Ancestors' Town
- 4 Research to Find the Town
- 5 If You Know the Town, Next Use Meyers Gazetteer
- 6 Research Tools
Today's state of Mecklenburg--Vorpommern was created after the Second World War by uniting the countries of Mecklenburg-Schwerin, Mecklenburg-Strelitz, and the part of Pomerania west of the Oder-Niesse line.
How to Find Birth, Marriage, and Death Records in Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania
For German Research, You Must Know Your Ancestors' Town
- To begin using the records of Germany, knowing that your family came from Mecklenburg or Pomerania will not be enough to use the records of Germany. Records are kept on the local level, so you will have to know the town they lived in.
- Details about the town will also help:
- the county or "Kreis" of that town,
- where the closest Evangelical Lutheran or Catholic parish church was (depending on their religion),
- where the civil registration office ("Standesamt") was, and
- if you have only a village name, you will need the name of the larger town it was part of.
Research to Find the Town
If you do not yet know the name of the town of your ancestor's birth, there are well-known strategies for a thorough hunt for it.
- Use Gathering Information to Locate Place of Origin as a guide in exhausting every possible record to find what you need.
- Or watch this webinar: Online Class: Finding German Places of Origin
- The emigration from Mecklenburg-Schwerin to overseas countries, especially after the United States of North America
If You Know the Town, Next Use Meyers Gazetteer
Once you know the town name you need, the other facts you need are contained in Meyers Orts- und Verkehrs-lexikon des deutschen Reichs, the gazetteer on which the FamilySearch catalog for Germany is based.
- Use MeyersGaz, the digital gazetteer, to find the details you need, particularly the Kreis (county) it belonged to, found after "Kr".
- MeyersGaz Help Guide
- Abbreviation Table
Here is part of an entry from MeyersGaz.org. (The whole entry can be studied at Heusenstamm, MeyersGaz.)
From these historic areas now in Mecklen-Vorpommern
click below on the related article for the region.
- Western Pomerania
Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania is divided into six rural districts (Kreise), and two urban districts (Kreisfreie Städte).
Rural Districts (Kreise):
Landkreis Rostock, Ludwigslust-Parchim, Mecklenburgische Seenplatte, Nordwestmecklenburg, Vorpommern-Greifswald, Vorpommern-Rügen
Urban Districts (Kreisfreie Städte):
- German Word List
- Latin Word List
- Handwriting Guide
- German Handwriting Tutorial
- Kurrentschrift Converter (enter German genealogical word, click on "convert", view your word in Kurrentschrift (Gothic handwriting)
Records of the Catholic church will usually be written in Latin: