McPherson County, Kansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from McPherson County, Kansas)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kansas
McPherson County

Guide to McPherson County, Kansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: McPherson
Organized: February 26, 1867
Parent County(s): Marion [1]
Neighboring Counties
Dickinson  • Ellsworth  • Harvey  • Marion  • Reno  • Rice  • Saline
See County Maps
Courthouse
KansasMcPhersonCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
200px-Map of Kansas highlighting McPherson County svg.bmp
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Civil War General James B. McPherson. The County has McPherson as its seat and the County was created February 26, 1867. The County is located in the central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

McPherson County Courthouse
117 N. Maple Street
P.O. Box 425
McPherson, Kansas 67460
Phone: 316.241.3656
McPherson County Website

County Clerk has birth records 1874-1911, marriage records 1887-1911, death records 1886-2922 and local census 1932.
Clerk District Court has divorce and court records from 1873, probate records from 1870 and naturalization records.
Register of Deeds has land records. [3]

McPherson County, Kansas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1874 1887 1886 1873 1870 1870 1855
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1911. General compliance by 1917.[5]

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in McPherson County, Kansas:[7]

Cities
Unincorporated communites
Census-designated places
Townships
  • Battle Hill
  • Bonaville
  • Canton
  • Castle
  • Delmore
  • Empire
  • Groveland
  • Gypsum Creek
  • Harper
  • Hayes
  • Jackson
  • King City
  • Little Valley
  • Lone Tree
  • McPherson
  • Marquette
  • Meridian
  • Mound
  • New Gottland
  • Smoky Hill
  • South Sharps Creek
  • Spring Valley
  • Superior
  • Turkey Creek
  • Union
Ghost towns
  • Battle Hill
  • Christian
  • Doles Park
  • Elivon
  • King City
  • Sweadal


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of McPherson County, Kansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kansas Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1870 738
1880 17,143 2222.9%
1890 21,614 26.1%
1900 21,421 −0.9%
1910 21,521 0.5%
1920 21,845 1.5%
1930 23,588 8.0%
1940 24,152 2.4%
1950 23,670 −2.0%
1960 24,285 2.6%
1970 24,778 2.0%
1980 26,855 8.4%
1990 27,268 1.5%
2000 29,554 8.4%
2010 29,180 −1.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Kansas became a territory in 1854 and the first territory census taken was in 1855. It was also enumerated as Kansas Territory in the 1860 Federal Census, although there were 15 counties that were marked with "no population" in them. The state continued to take state censuses after it was admitted to the Union in 1861.[8] See links listed below.

State and Territorial Census Records

Federal Census Records

The 1870 Census was the first Federal Census taken for Kansas after it became a state in 1861.[9] For links to Federal Census indexes, see Kansas Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Online Land Records

For more information see Kansas Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for McPherson County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


Online County Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Ellsworth CountySaline CountyDickinson CountyRice CountyReno CountyHarvey CountyMarion CountyMcPherson, Kansas.JPG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

  • For information about Civil War records see Marion County.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

For more information, see Kansas Newspapers.

Kansas Newspapers Online

Kansas Newspaper Catalogs

Obituaries

Other Records

Voter Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, McPherson and click Probate records.


Online Records

Indices of McPherson County, Kansas Wills and Probate Records, McPherson County Old Mill Museum

School Records

Tax Records

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


The McPherson County, Kansas Official Website (Click "Department" tab, then "Clerk/Elections") has a partial list of early births, deaths, and marriages that occurred in the county.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Mcpherson County Historical Society
540 East Hill
Mcpherson 67460

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "McPherson, Kansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/McPherson_County,_Kansas" 9/08/2017.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), McPherson County, Kansas page 253, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), McPherson County, Kansas. Page 253 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 236.
  5. “Kansas Research Outline”, (Salt Lake City, Utah: Family History Department, 2000), 40.
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "McPherson County, Kansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/McPherson_County,_Kansas#Communities, accessed 25 September 2017.
  8. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 118-119.
  9. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 119.