McMullen County, Texas Genealogy
Guide to McMullen County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|McMullen County, Texas|
Location in the state of Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||1 February, 1858|
- 1 County Information
- 2 History
- 3 Places / Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 African American Resources
- 4.2 Cemeteries
- 4.3 Census
- 4.4 Church
- 4.5 Court
- 4.6 Land
- 4.7 Local Histories
- 4.8 Maps
- 4.9 Military
- 4.10 Newspapers
- 4.11 Probate
- 4.12 Taxation
- 4.13 Vital Records
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
County and District Clerk
P.O. Box 235
McMullen County, Texas Record Dates
Records from the first, short-lived organization have not survived.
Places / Localities
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
Calliham | Tilden
African American Resources
- 1865-1870 Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records(images) - FamilySearch
- Texas African American Griots ~ USGenWeb
- AfriGeneas ~ African Ancestored Genealogy
- Texas African American Genealogy ~ Access Genealogy
- African American Cemeteries Online ~ Partial index/transcriptions of African American cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|FindAGrave||Family History Library||FindAGrave|
|Billion Graves (name)||Cemeteries of TX|
|GenWeb Archives||Texas Cemeteries|
|Billion Graves (cemetery)||TX Gravestones|
|Names in Stone|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local histories are available for McMullen County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- McMullen County History, 1981, by the McMullen County History Book Committee.
- McMullen County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site.
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as McMullen County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Online Probate Records
- 1800 – 1990 Texas Probate Records 1800-1990 at FamilySearch — images
- 1800 – 2000 Texas Wills and Probate Records 1800-2000 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- Search Tax, Criminal, Land and Wills Records Ancestry.com (subscription)
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1840 - 1981 Texas, Births and Christenings, 1840-1981 - FamilySearch
- 1903 - 1935 Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903 -1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch
- 1903 - 1997 Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 FamilySearch
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- 1802-2010 - Texas, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1814 - 1909 and 1966 - 2011 Texas Marriage Collection 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837 - 1977 Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 FamilySearch records collection'
- 1837 - 1973 Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 FamilySearch record collection
- 1966 - 2010 Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 FamilySearch record collection
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1890 - 1976 Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976.
- 1890 - 1976 Footnote.com ($) has Texas Death Certificates 1890-1976 available online.
- 1903 - 1973 Texas, Deaths and Burials, 1903-1973 FamilySearch records collection
- 1903 - 2000 Texas, Death Index, 1903-2000 FamilySearch records collection
- 1964 - 1998 Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images]
- 1988 - 1986 Texas, Deaths, 1977-1986 FamilySearch records collection
- 1968 - 2005 Texas Divorce Records 1968 - 2005 (index) Hidden Ancestors
- 1968 - 2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 FamilySearch records
- 1968 - 2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 at FamilySearch.org — index
Societies and Libraries
McMullen County Historic Museum Association
Across the street from the Courthouse
HRC 4 Box 17
Tilden, Texas 78072-9302
Museum Staff: Jane Wheeler
Telephone Number: 361-274-3204
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- McMullen County TXGenWeb site Information on the history of the people and county.
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county
- USGenWeb Archives Project
- FamilySearch Catalog — The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), McMullen County, Texas. Page 670 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Handbook of Texas Online: McMullen County http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hcm09