McLeod County, Minnesota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to McLeod County, Minnesota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Glencoe
Organized: March 1, 1856[1]
Parent County(s): Carver, Sibley[2]
Neighboring Counties
Carver  • Meeker  • Renville  • Sibley  • Wright
See County Maps
Courthouse
Minnesota, McLeod County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Minnesota McLeod County Map.svg.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Martin McLeod, a Canadian-born adventurer who became a fur trader and later was elected a territorial representative (1849–1856) in Minnesota. The County is located in the south-central area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

McLeod County Courthouse
830 11th Street
PO Box 127
Glencoe, MN 55336
Phone: 320-864-1216
McLeod County Website

Recorder has birth and death records from 1870, marriage records from 1865, school census and land records.
County Administrator has divorce, probate and court records.
Veterans Service has military records.[4]

McLeod County, Minnesota Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1870 1865 1870 1867 1856 1864 1836
*Statewide registration started for births in 1900 and deaths in 1908. General compliance by 1915.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of McLeod County, Minnesota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For links to Federal, State, and Territorial censuses, see Minnesota Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1860 1,286
1870 5,643 338.8%
1880 12,342 118.7%
1890 17,026 38.0%
1900 19,595 15.1%
1910 18,691 −4.6%
1920 20,444 9.4%
1930 20,522 0.4%
1940 21,380 4.2%
1950 22,198 3.8%
1960 24,401 9.9%
1970 27,662 13.4%
1980 29,657 7.2%
1990 32,030 8.0%
2000 34,898 9.0%
2010 36,651 5.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information, see Minnesota Church Records.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for McLeod County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

  • Curtiss-Wedge, Franklyn; Holcombe Return Ira; History of McLeod County, Minnesota (Chicago and Winona; H.C. Coolper Jr. & Co., 1917) Online at FamilySearch Digital Library.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Meeker CountyWright CountyCarver CountySibley CountyRenville CountyMN McLEOD.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Multiple Wars

Civil War

Civil War service men from McLeod County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of McLeod County.

- 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company K
- 4th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company B

Spanish-American War

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records may include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Since Minnesota tax records include only persons who owned taxable property, many residents were not included. Still they complement land records and can be used in place of missing censuses or the years between censuses. There may also be gaps. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota Department of Health, Office of Vital Records, or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Minnesota Vital Records.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in McLeod County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Minnesota Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in McLeod County. For state-wide library facilities, see Minnesota Archives and Libraries.

Brownton Public Library
335 3rd Street S
PO Box 97
Brownton, MN 55312
320-328-5900
Website

Hutchinson Public Library
50 Hassan St SE
Hutchinson, MN 55350
320-587-2368
Website

Winsted Public Library
180 Main Ave W
PO Box 175
Winsted, MN 55395
320-485-3909
Website

Glencoe Public Library
1107 11th Street E, Suite 207
Glencoe, MN 55336
320-864-3919
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

McLeod County Historical Society and Museum
380 School Rd NW
Hutchinson, MN 55350
320-587-2109
E-mail: info@mcleodhistory.org
Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in McLeod County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Minnesota Societies.

McLeod County Genealogical and Historical Society
380 School Rd NW
Hutchinson, MN 55350
320-587-2109
E-mail: info@mcleodhistory.org
Website

Stewart Area Historical Society
336 Main St
Stewart MN 55385
E-mail: stewartredowl@gmail.com
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Minnesota Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed 31 January 2021.
  2. Minnesota Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed 31 January 2021.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "McLeod County, Minnesota" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/McLeod_County,_Minnesota accessed 31 January 2021
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Minnesota.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Minnesota.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Minnesota Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed 31 January 2021.
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Minnesota.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "McLeod County, Minnesota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/McLeod_County,_Minnesota, accessed 31 January 2021.