McLennan County, Texas Genealogy
Guide to McLennan County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|McLennan County, Texas|
Location in the state of Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||22 January, 1850|
|Address|| McLennan County Courthouse|
501 Washington Avenue
Waco, Texas 76701
- 1 County Information
- 2 History
- 3 Places / Localities
- 4 Resources
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
McLennan County Courthouse
501 Washington Avenue
Waco, Texas 76701
County Clerk has birth and death
records from 1929, marriage,
probate, court and land records
from 1850; District Clerk has
P.O. Box 1727
P.O. Box 2451
McLennan County, Texas Record Dates
1842--The area was originally part of the Robertson Colony but was occupied exclusively by Waco Indians in the 1802's and 1830's. A trading post was set up near the present site of Waco in 1842.
- County seat: Waco 
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
Cities and Towns:
- Axtell (unincorporated) - Wikipedia
- Bellmead - Wikipedia
- Beverly Hills - Wikipedia
- Bruceville-Eddy - Wikipedia
- Downsville (unincorporated) - Wikipedia
- China Spring (unincorporated) - Wikipedia
- Crawford - Wikipedia
- Elm Mott (unincorporated) - Wikipedia
- Gholson - Wikipedia
- Golinda - Wikipedia
- Hallsburg - Wikipedia
- Hewitt - Wikipedia
- Lacy Lakeview - Wikipedia
- Leroy - Wikipedia
- Lorena - Wikipedia
- Mart - Wikipedia
- McGregor - Wikipedia
- Moody - Wikipedia
- Riesel - Wikipedia
- Robinson - Wikipedia
- Ross - Wikipedia
- Speegleville - Wikipedia
- Valley Mills - Wikipedia
- Waco - Wikipedia
- West - Wikipedia
- Woodway - Wikipedia
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|FindAGrave||Family History Library||FindAGrave|
|BillionGraves (name)||Cemeteries of TX|
|GenWeb Archives||Texas Cemeteries|
|Names in Stone||Interment|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Additional Cemetery Sources
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local histories are available for McLennan County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the Texas Genweb site
- Texas Land Survey Maps for McLennan County, Texas Genealogy (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as McLennan County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Central Texas Genealogical Society, Inc. (CTGS) - Click on Archives at top.
- TXGenWeb - McLennan - Click on the Obituaries to go to the list. ( left side of page )
- US Gen Net - Click on obituaries top of page.
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Online Probate Records
- 1800 – 2000 Texas Wills and Probate Records 1800-2000 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1800 – 1990 Texas Probate Records 1800-1990 at FamilySearch — images
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1840-1981 Texas, Births and Christenings - FamilySearch
- 1903-1935 Texas, Birth Certificates (images and index) - FamilySearch
- 1903-1997 Texas Birth Index (index)- FamilySearch
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- 1802-2010 Texas, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 Texas Marriage Collection at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837-1965 Texas, County Marriage Records, 1837-1965 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1837-1973 Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 at FamilySearch — index
- 1837-1977 Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 at FamilySearch — index
- 1837-1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index 1837-1977 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1966-2010 Texas, Marriages - FamilySearch record collection
Online Death Indexes and Records '
- 1890-1976 Texas Death Records with images Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976 The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
- 1964-1998 Texas Death Index at FamilySearch.org Texas, Death Index, 1964-1998 (FamilySearch Historical Records) Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- 1977-1986 Texas Deaths at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968-2005 Texas Divorce Records (index) - Hidden Ancestors
- 1968-2010 Texas Divorce Index at FamilySearch.org — index
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog — The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.
- USGenWeb - May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), McLennan County, Texas. Page 670 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).