McLean County, Kentucky Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kentucky
McLean County

Guide to McLean County, Kentucky ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Calhoun
Organized: February 6, 1854
Parent County(s): Daviess, Ohio, Muhlenberg[1]
Neighboring Counties
Daviess  • Henderson  • Hopkins  • Muhlenberg  • Ohio  • Webster
See County Maps
Courthouse
McLean County Courthouse, Calhoun, KY
Location Map
McLean County svg.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information

Description

The County was named for Alney McLean. The County has Calhoun as its seat and the County was created 1854. The County is located in the northwest area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

McLean County Courthouse
210 Main Street
Calhoun, KY 42327-0057
Phone: 270-273-3082[3]
McLean County Website

McLean County, Kentucky Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1854 1854 1854 1854 1854 1847 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1911. General compliance by 1917.

Record Loss

1908--A disaster destroyed some records.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

County Pronunciation

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of McLean, Kentucky online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kentucky Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites have additional information on McLean county cemeteries.

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1860 6,144
1870 7,614 23.9%
1880 9,293 22.1%
1890 9,887 6.4%
1900 12,448 25.9%
1910 13,241 6.4%
1920 12,502 −5.6%
1930 11,072 −11.4%
1940 11,446 3.4%
1950 10,021 −12.4%
1960 9,355 −6.6%
1970 9,062 −3.1%
1980 10,090 11.3%
1990 9,628 −4.6%
2000 9,938 3.2%
2010 9,531 −4.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing McLean County, Kentucky Genealogy census records online, see: Kentucky Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

More information about African American resources in Kentucky can be found on the Kentucky African Americans and the United States African Americans Wiki pages.

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • [Baker] Chapman, Peggy Brown. Bakers of Logan, Christian, Muhlenberg, Livingston, Henderson, Hopkins, Caldwell, Union, Todd, Trigg, Crittenden, Lyon, McLean and Webster Counties & Jackson Purchase, Kentucky. Lubbock, Texas: P.B. Chapman, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 B171cp

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for McLean County, Kentucky Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Henderson CountyDaviess CountyOhio CountyMuhlenberg CountyHopkins CountyWebster CountyKY McLEAN.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in McLean County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 17th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Companies A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I and K.
- 1st Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Company B.
- 3rd Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Union), Companies A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, K, L and M.
- 11th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Companies A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I and K.

World War I

Korean War

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as McLean County, Kentucky Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Voting Registers

The 1863 "Sacramento poll-book, McLean county, Kentucky," appeared as evidence in a House of Representatives case in Washington, D.C. Information is listed about more than 100 voters. For access, see:

  • "Contested election, John McHenry, Jr., vs. George H. Yeamans, second congressional district of Kentucky, papers," in U.S. Serial Set 1200 H.misdoc.36: Dec 9, 1863. Digital version in U.S. Serial Set, HeritageQuest Online ($). [Search for "Person Name" McHenry Yeamans, see pp. 86-88 for list.]

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the McLean County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the McLean County, Kentucky Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977 for Caldwell, Henry, Hickman, Russell and Trimble counties. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the McLean County Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the McLean County Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Livermore Community Library
    116 East 2nd Street
    Livermore, KY 42352
    Telephone: 270-278-9184

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "McLean County, Kentucky" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/McLean_County,_Kentucky."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), McLean County, Kentucky page 273, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), McLean County, Kentucky. Page 268-276 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 251-254.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Voice of Dorothy Murphy (b. 1927), life-long resident of Central City, Ky. (2011)
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "McLean County, Kentucky," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/McLean_County%2C_Kentucky, accessed 2 September 2018.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/7/75/Igikentuckymz.pdf.

Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=McLean_County,_Kentucky_Genealogy&oldid=3454992"