McIntosh County, Oklahoma Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Oklahoma
McIntosh County
 

Guide to McIntosh County, Oklahoma ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Eufaula
Organized: July 16, 1907
Parent County(s): Creek Lands[1]
Neighboring Counties
Haskell  • Hughes  • Muskogee  • Okfuskee  • Okmulgee  • Pittsburg
See County Maps
Courthouse
OklahomaMcIntoshCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ok-mcintosh.png
Adoption


County Information

Description

Located in eastern Oklahoma. Named for the influential Creek family of McIntoshes. McIntosh county was originally a part of the Creek Nation and was named in honor of the McIntosh family.[2] McCurtain County was created 1907. The Largest city is Checotah. The County seat is Eufaula.[3]

County Courthouse

McIntosh County County
110 N. 1st Street
Eufaula, Oklahoma 74432
Phone: 918.689.2741

McIntosh County County
110 N 1st Street
Eufaula, OK 74432
Phone: 918.689-2741

County Clerk has birth and death records 1911-1918 and land records; Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1907[1]

McIntosh County, Oklahoma Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1905 1907 1907 1907 1907

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in McIntosh County, Oklahoma:[4]

Cities

  • Checotah
  • Eufaula (county seat)

Towns

  • Hanna
  • Hitchita
  • Rentiesville
  • Stidham

Unincorporated communities

  • Lenna
  • Shady Grove
  • Texanna
  • Vernon

Census-designated places

  • Duchess Landing
  • Shady Grove
  • Texanna

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of McIntosh County, Oklahoma online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Oklahoma Cemeteries for more information
  • An index of cemeteries in McIntosh county is available the the Family History Library.
Cemeteries in McIntosh, Oklahoma
Cemetery Name
Nearest Municipality
Hitchita Lackey Cemetery
Hitchita
Indian Cemetery
Hitchita
Ridley Cemetery
Hitchita
Council Hill
Hitchita

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1910 20,961
1920 26,404 26.0%
1930 24,924 −5.6%
1940 24,097 −3.3%
1950 17,829 −26.0%
1960 12,371 −30.6%
1970 12,472 0.8%
1980 15,562 24.8%
1990 16,779 7.8%
2000 19,456 16.0%
2010 20,252 4.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing McIntosh County, Oklahoma Genealogy census records online, see: Oklahoma Census.

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Oklahoma starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Oklahoma Census.

State Census Records

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Oklahoma denominations, view the Oklahoma Church Records Wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

American Indians

Census

Land and Property

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Oklahoma Land and Property for additional information about early Oklahoma land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

For more information see Oklahoma Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for McIntosh County, Oklahoma Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Oklahoma Local Histories.

Muskogee and Northeastern Oklahoma: including the counties of Muskogee, McIntosh, Wagoner, Cherokee, Sequoyah, Adair, Delaware, Mayes, Rogers, Washington, Nowata, Craig, and Ottawa. Chicago: S.J. Clarke Publishing Co., 1922

Maps and Gazetteers

Okmulgee CountyMuskogee CountyHaskell CountyLatimer CountyPittsburg CountyHughes CountyOkfuskee CountyOK McINTOSH.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

Civil War

Civil War Battle

The following Civil War Battle was fought in McIntosh County:

Map showing Civil war battles in Oklahoma

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Oklahoma Newspapers Online

Oklahoma Newspaper Catalogs

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as McIntosh County, Oklahoma Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Oklahoma, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Oklahoma - McIntosh - Probate records.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Oklahoma tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

Birth

Online Birth Records Indexes and Images

Marriage

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Death

Online Death Records Indexes and Images

Divorce

Online Divorce Records Indexes and Images

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.


Libraries

Museums

Societies

Lake Eufaula Area Genealogical Society
PO Box 1035
Eufaula, OK 74423

Websites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Oklahoma. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. http://genealogytrails.com/oka/mcintosh/countyhistory.html accessed 09/29/2016
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/McIntosh_County,_Oklahoma accessed 09/29/2016
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "McIntosh County, Oklahoma," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/McIntosh_County,_Oklahoma, accessed 6 August 2016.
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012)