McIntosh County, Georgia Genealogy
Guide to McIntosh County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Bible Records
- 2.2 Biographies
- 2.3 Business, Commerce, and Occupations
- 2.4 Cemeteries
- 2.5 Census Records
- 2.6 Church Records
- 2.7 Court Records
- 2.8 Directories
- 2.9 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.10 Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
- 2.11 Funeral Homes
- 2.12 Genealogies
- 2.13 Guardianship
- 2.14 Land and Property Records
- 2.15 Local Histories
- 2.16 Maps and Gazetteers
- 2.17 Migration
- 2.18 Military Records
- 2.19 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.20 Newspapers
- 2.21 Obituaries
- 2.22 Other Records
- 2.23 Periodicals
- 2.24 Probate Records
- 2.25 School Records
- 2.26 Tax Records
- 2.27 Vital Records
- 3 Research Facilities
- 4 Societies
- 5 Websites
- 6 Research Guides
- 7 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for its most famous family, which included Lachlan McIntosh, who was a general in the Continental Army. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
McIntosh County, Georgia Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
1863 During the American Civil War the town of Darien and its courthouse were destroyed on 11 June, along with the county's records.
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The following web site may have additional information on McIntosh County cemeteries.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page. List of Churches and Church Parishes
Baptist[edit | edit source]
- Darien - Minutes, membership rolls, financial records, etc. (1794-1856) available on microfilm at the University of NC Davis Library (Serial 1-1265 1794-1856).
Episcopal[edit | edit source]
St. Andrew's Episcopal Church, Darien
- 1895 St. Andrew's Episcopal Church, Darien, Marriage Index 1895. Batch M713331 at FamilySearch
St. Cyprian's Episcopal Church, Darien
- 1871-1885 St. Cyprian's Episcopal Church, Darien, Baptism Index 1871-1885. Batch C713341 at FamilySearch
- 1871-1895 St. Cyprian's Episcopal Church, Darien, Marriage Index 1871-1895. Batch M713341 at FamilySearch
Presbyterian[edit | edit source]
First Presbyterian Church, Darien
- 1864-1958 First Presbyterian Church, Darien, Baptism Index 1864-1958. Batch C713321 at FamilySearch
- 1874-1947 First Presbyterian Church, Darien, Marriage Index 1874-1947. Batch M713321 at FamilySearch
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
- 1892 Darien, Georgia City Directory (digital images) Georgia Pioneers ($)
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
- Coastal Georgia Genealogy & History (GlynnGen.com). African American research page on the Coastal Georgia History & Genealogy site. Biographies, burial index, cemeteries, census, court, death records, enslavement records, family files, history, links & websites, marriages, name changes, newspapers, plantations and schools.
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- Colonial Land Grants in Darien Georgia Pioneers ($)
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for McIntosh County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
- 1738 Petitioners of Darien, Georgia Georgia Pioneers ($)
- Darien Bailiff Officers Georgia Pioneers ($)
- Darien Town Constables Georgia Pioneers ($)
- Darien Town Merchants Georgia Pioneers ($)
- Darien Overseers of Servants Georgia Pioneers ($)
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1861-1865 Georgia Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 Georgia Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1867-1868 Georgia, Reconstruction Registration Oath Books, 1867-1868 at FamilySearch — index
- 1879-1920 Georgia, Confederate Pension Rolls, 1879-1920 at FamilySearch — index
Regiments. Service men in McIntosh County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in McIntosh County:
- - 5th Regiment, Georgia Cavalry (Confederate) , Company M
- - 26th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company M
- Georgia. Court of Ordinary (McIntosh County). 1958. Confederate veteran's pension roll, 1896-1923. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Film 184566
- United Daughters of the Confederacy. McIntosh County Chapter, no. 438 (Darien, Georgia). 1958. Records of the United Daughters of the Confederacy, McIntosh County Chapter 438, Darien, Georgia. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Film 184505
- McFeely, William S. 1994. Sapelo's people: a long walk into freedom. New York: W.W. Norton. (This book recreates the history of the descendants of slaves who live on a barrier island in Georgia by recounting the memories of the island's sixty-seven inhabitants.) 975.8737/S1 H2m
- Description of historical markers in McIntosh County, Georgia. 1958. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 184586 item 2
- History of McIntosh County, Georgia. 1958. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 184501 item 7
World War I
- 1920-1929 Georgia, World War I, Statement of Service Cards, 1920-1929 at FamilySearch — index and images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
- 1867-1868 Georgia, Reconstruction Registration Oath Books, 1867-1868 at FamilySearch — index
- 1856-1909 - Georgia, County Voter Registrations, 1856-1909 at FamilySearch — index and images
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
Online Probate Records
- 1742-1990 Georgia Probate Records, 1742-1990 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1742-1992 Georgia Wills and Probate Records 1742-1992 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
- 1848-1915 Wills 1848-1915 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1887-1914 Estates 1887-1914 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers ($)
School Records[edit | edit source]
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1870-1960 Georgia, County Delayed Birth and Death Records, 1870-1960 at FamilySearch — index, and some images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1560-1993 Georgia, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index ($)
- 1699-1944 Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at Ancestry — index ($)
- 1754-1960 Georgia Church Marriages, 1754-1960 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1785-1950 Georgia County Marriages 1785-1950 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1787-1962 Georgia, Church Marriages, 1787-1962 at FamilySearch — index
- 1808-1967 Georgia Marriages 1808-1967 at FamilySearch — index
- 1828-1978 Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
- 1873-1895 McIntosh County Marriage Books 1 and 2 Index 1873-1895. Batch M713311 at FamilySearch
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1914-1927 Georgia Deaths 1914-1927 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1919-1998 Georgia Deaths 1919-1998 at Ancestry — index ($)
- 1928-1942 Georgia Deaths, 1928-1942 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1933-1998 Georgia Death Index 1933-1998 at FamilySearch — index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
- Lower Altamaha Historical Society, Inc.
PO Box 1405
Darien, GA 31305-1405
- Eufaula Memorial Library Genealogical Society
- Coastal Georgia Genealogical Society
Websites[edit | edit source]
- McIntosh County, GA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Georgia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb McIntosh County, Georgia project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- McIntosh County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers $
- Coastal Georgia Genealogy & History (GlynnGen.com)
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "McIntosh County, Georgia" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/McIntosh_County,_Georgia accessed 2 Nov 2018
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), McIntosh County, Georgia. Page 151-163 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 155-160.
- Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 42-43. At various libraries (WorldCat).
- Wikipedia contributors, "McIntosh County, Georgia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/McIntosh_County,_Georgia, accessed 7 November 2019.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.