McIntosh County, Georgia Genealogy
Guide to McIntosh County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|McIntosh County, Georgia|
Location in the state of Georgia
|Founded||December 19, 1793|
|Address|| McIntosh County Courthouse|
PO Box 584
Darien, GA 31305-0584
McIntosh County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Genealogy Resources
- 5.1 Research Guides
- 5.2 African Americans
- 5.3 Bible Records
- 5.4 Cemeteries
- 5.5 Census
- 5.6 Church Records
- 5.7 Court
- 5.8 Genealogy
- 5.9 Land and Property
- 5.10 Local Histories
- 5.11 Maps
- 5.12 Military
- 5.13 Naturalization
- 5.14 Newspapers
- 5.15 Occupations
- 5.16 Probate Records
- 5.17 Taxation
- 5.18 Vital Records
- 5.19 Voter Records
- 6 Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
McIntosh County, Georgia Record Dates
Clerk of Superior Court
310 Northway St.
P.O. Box 1661
Darien, GA 31305
Phone: (912) 437-6641
Fax: (912) 437-6673
Probate Court of McIntosh County
PO Box Drawer 459
Darien, GA 31305
Phone: (912) 437-4888
For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
1873 Fire the night of 25-26 January destroyed the courthouse and all of its contents.
1881, 1931 Courthouse fires on 23 March 1931 and 7 December 1981 did not result in any further loss of county records.
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
- Burned Counties Research in the FamilySearch Research Wiki.
- Arlene Eakle, When the Records are Gone in the Tennessee Genealogy Blog.
- Michael John Neill, Burned Counties in Family History Circle.
Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.
The following web site may have additional information on McIntosh County cemeteries.
- Interment.net Georgia cemetery records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
St. Andrew's Episcopal Church, Darien
- 1895 - St. Andrew's Episcopal Church, Darien, Marriage Index 1895. Batch M713331 at FamilySearch - free.
St. Cyprian's Episcopal Church, Darien
- 1871-1885 - St. Cyprian's Episcopal Church, Darien, Baptism Index 1871-1885. Batch C713341 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- 1871-1895 - St. Cyprian's Episcopal Church, Darien, Marriage Index 1871-1895. Batch M713341 at FamilySearch - free.
First Presbyterian Church, Darien
- 1864-1958 - First Presbyterian Church, Darien, Baptism Index 1864-1958. Batch C713321 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- 1874-1947 - First Presbyterian Church, Darien, Marriage Index 1874-1947. Batch M713321 at FamilySearch - free.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- Colonial Land Grants in Darien Georgia Pioneers $
Local histories are available for McIntosh County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
- 1738 Petitioners of Darien, Georgia Georgia Pioneers $
- Darien Bailiff Officers Georgia Pioneers $
- Darien Town Constables Georgia Pioneers $
- Darien Town Merchants Georgia Pioneers $
- Darien Overseers of Servants Georgia Pioneers $
- Maps of Georgia (1758-1932)
- 1892 Darien, Georgia City Directory (digital images) Georgia Pioneers $
- Darien Town Plot Georgia Pioneers $
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1861-1865 - Georgia Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Georgia Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
Regiments. Service men in McIntosh County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in McIntosh County, Georgia Genealogy:
- - 5th Regiment, Georgia Cavalry (Confederate) , Company M
- - 26th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company M
- - Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
- Georgia. Court of Ordinary (McIntosh County). 1958. Confederate veteran's pension roll, 1896-1923. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Film 184566
- United Daughters of the Confederacy. McIntosh County Chapter, no. 438 (Darien, Georgia). 1958. Records of the United Daughters of the Confederacy, McIntosh County Chapter 438, Darien, Georgia. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Film 184505
- McFeely, William S. 1994. Sapelo's people: a long walk into freedom. New York: W.W. Norton. (This book recreates the history of the descendants of slaves who live on a barrier island in Georgia by recounting the memories of the island's sixty-seven inhabitants.) 975.8737/S1 H2m
- Description of historical markers in McIntosh County, Georgia. 1958. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 184586 item 2
- History of McIntosh County, Georgia. 1958. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 184501 item 7
Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as McIntosh County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- FamilySearch Catalog. Do a Place search for McIntosh County, Georgia Genealogy to find these and other records in the FamilySearch Catalog (For instructions see FamilySearch Catalog Place-name Search).
Online Probate Records
- 1742–1992 - Georgia Wills and Probate Records 1742-1992 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1742–1990 - Georgia Probate Records 1742-1990 at FamilySearch.org images
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
- 1848-1915 - Wills 1848-1915 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers $
- 1887-1914' - Estates 1887-1914 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers $
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
- 1862 Tax Digest Georgia Pioneers $
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..
- 1699 - 1944 - Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at Ancestry.com— index $
- 1754 - 1960 - Georgia Church Marriages, 1754-1960 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1785 - 1950 - Georgia County Marriages 1785-1950 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1787 - 1962 - Georgia, Church Marriages, 1787-1962 at FamilySearch — index
- 1808 - 1967 - Georgia Marriages 1808-1967 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1828 - 1978 - Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1873 - 1895 - McIntosh County Marriage Books 1 and 2 Index 1873-1895. Batch M713311 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1914 - 1927 - Georgia Deaths 1914-1927 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1919 - 1998 - Georgia Deaths 1919-1998 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1928 - 1939 - Georgia Deaths 1928-1939 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1933 - 1998 - Georgia Death Index 1933-1998 at FamilySearch.org — index
Vital Record Substitutes
- 1867-1868 - Georgia, Reconstruction Registration Oath Books, 1867-1868 at FamilySearch — index
Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Lower Altamaha Historical Society,
Inc. PO Box 1405,
Darien, GA 31305-1405
Eufaula Memorial Library Genealogical Society The Eufaula Memorial Library Genealogical Society meets the 2nd Thursday of each month @ Eufaula Memorial Library.
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- -county/ McIntosh County, GA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Georgia Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Georgia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb McIntosh County, Georgia project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- McIntosh County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers $
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), McIntosh County, Georgia. Page 158 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 42-43. At various libraries (WorldCat).
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.