McDowell County, West Virginia Genealogy
Guide to McDowell County, West Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|McDowell County, West Virginia|
Location in the state of West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
|Founded||February 20, 1858|
|Address|| McDowell County Courthouse|
90 Wyoming Street
#109 Welch, WV 24801 304-436-8344
McDowell County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
McDowell County, West Virginia Record Dates
- County Clerk has birth records from 1872
- Marriage records from 1861
- Death records 1894
- Probate and land records 1897
- Circuit Court Clerk has divorce records
County seat first Perryville; changed to Welch in 1892.
For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See West Virginia Cemeteries for more information.|
- McDowell County, West Virginia Cemeteries
- Random Acts WV Cemetery Records Research Guide
- McDowell County Obituaries
For tips on accessing McDowell County, West Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: West Virginia Census.
- Harman - Harman, John Newton. Harman Genealogy (Southern Branch): With Biographical Sketches, 1700-1924. Richmond, Va.: W.C. Hill Print. Co., 1925. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
West Virginia Archives
Evans, Norma Pontiff. First Families of McDowell County, West Virginia. s.l. Author, 1981.
Friedl, Joseph. A History of Education in McDowell County, West Virginia, 1858-1976. Parsons, West Virginia, McClain Printing Company, 1975.
Goodykoontz, Wells. Address Delivered by Wells Goodykoontz, Tuesday, June 14, 1927, at the Unveiling of Tablet of Black Wolf, McDowell County, West Virginia . s.l., n.p., 1927. 929.2 H287 Pam.
Grisby, Louise Carter. Come Back With Me to Gary, West Virginia. s.l., n.p., n.d. 975.449 G857.
Lad, Virginia. Sodom and Gomorrah of Today; or the History of Keystone, West Virginia. s.l., n.p., 1912.
McDowell County Centennial, 1858-1958. s.l., n.p., 1958. 975.449 M138c.
McDowell County, West Virginia, The Nations Coal Bin. s.l., n.p., n.d. 917.5449 M138.
Solins, Mrs. Samuel and Jones, Mrs. Paul. McDowell County History; A Pictorial History of McDowell County, West Virginia. Fort Worth, Texas, University Supply and Equipment Company, 1959. 975.449 M138.
Sowers, Auburn Daniel. Facts About McDowell County, West Virginia. s.l., n.p., 1912. 975.449 S731 Pam.
Welch West Virginia Chamber of Commerce. Welch, McDowell County, West Virginia. s.l., n.p., n.d.
917.5449 W439 Pam.
- Maps of West Virginia (1617-1995)
- McDowell County, West Virginia Map
- McDowell County West Virginia 1895
- TrailsRus McDowell County, West Virginia
- West Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
- 1861 - 1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1814 - 1991 - West Virginia Naturalization Records, 1814-1991 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Naturalization records, 1908-1951 Circuit Court McDowell County, West Virginia: available on line.
Welch Daily News
Welch, WV 24801
McDowell Public Library
Online Probate Records
- 1724 - 1978 West Virginia Wills and Probate Records 1724-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1756 - 1971 West Virginia Will Books 1756-1971 at [https:/familysearch.org/ FamilySearch] — index and images
McDowell County, West Virignia Will Books 1893-1968
West Virginia Will Books
Online West Virginia Tax site
West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.
Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.
The search for tax information can start here
- West Virginia Vital Records - Birth - Death - Marriages. See also How to order West Virginia Vital Records or order electronically online.
. Includes marriages 1865-1969 - free.
- McDowell Co., West Virginia births, 1887-1899; marriages, 1861-1899.
- McDowell County, West Virginia, births, marriages and wills (1860-1900) : copied from Welch court house records
Societies and Libraries
McDowell County Historical Society
HC 61 Box 37-B
Paynesville, WV 24873
President: Dr. Tom Hatcher
Secretary/Treasurer: Geneva Steele
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Craft Memorial Library, Bluefield, WV
- McDowell County, WV History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- West Virginia Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- West Virginia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FamilySearch Catalog
- CYNDI'S List West Virginia
- McDowell County Articles
- McDowell West Virginia Families
- McDowell County, West Virginia Photo Album
- Flat Top Field, McDowell County, West Virginia
- McDowell County Biographies
Learning How to Edit our Wiki Sites
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), McDowell County, West Virginia. Page 744 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).