Mayotte, France Genealogy
Guide to Mayotte ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
|Mayotte Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Country Information[edit | edit source]
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Mayotte Research
Links to articles on getting started with Mayotte research.
Mayotte Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Mayotte research.
Mayotte, France Map[edit | edit source]
Communes[edit | edit source]
Online Church Records and Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
The vast majority of your research will be in church records and civil registration. Fortunately, these records are available online from the archives of each department.
Writing for Records[edit | edit source]
Online records tend to cover only the time before 100 years, due to privacy laws. You can write to civil registration offices and local churches who might honor requests for more recent records of close family members for the purpose of genealogy.
For a civil registration office, address your request to:
Monsieur l'officier de l'état-civil
Mairie de (Town)
(Postal code) (Town)
For a parish church:
Monsieur le Curé
(Church --see The Catholic Directory for church name and address)
(Town) (Postal Code) France
For other addresses and for help writing your request in French, use French Letter Writing Guide.
Learning to Read Enough French to Do Genealogy[edit | edit source]
It's easier than you think! You do not have to be fluent in French to use these records, as there is only a limited vocabulary used in them. By learning a few key phrases, you will be able to read them adequately. Here are some resources for learning to read French records.
During the reign of Napoleon, a different calendar was used. You will want to translate the dates written in these records back to normal Julian calendar dates. Charts in this article will help you:
- Alsace-Lorraine: Converting French Republican Calendar Dates - Instruction
There is a three-lesson course in reading handwriting in old French records:
- Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 1: The French Alphabet,
- Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 2: Key Words and Phrases
- Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 3: Reading French Records
These lessons focus on reading church record and civil registration records:
Another resource is the French Records Extraction Manual, Full Manual. Much more is covered, but these first four lessons are especially useful.
- Chapter 1: OLD FRENCH RECORDS
- Chapter 2: PARISH CHRISTENING AND CIVIL BIRTH ENTRIES
- Chapter 3: MARRIAGE ENTRIES
- Chapter 4: OTHER ENTRIES
- Chapter 5: FRENCH HANDWRITING AND SPELLING
Some Catholic Church records will be written in Latin:
- Key Words and Phrases in Latin Records
- Latin Genealogical Word List===Finding Church Records and Civil Registration Online===
Each Department of France has archives that provide digitized images of these records.
Here is the website for the Department Archives of Mayotte, where you will find these records.
National Overseas Archives, Mayotte
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Mayotte," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mayotte, accessed 27 April 2016.