Mattersey, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Mattersey, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Mattersey All Saints Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||East Retford|
|Registration District||East Retford|
|Parish registers: 1539|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1608|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
MATTERSEY (All Saints), a parish, in the union of East Retford, Hatfield division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 3½ miles (S. E.) from Bawtry. The village is situated on the bank of the river Idle, over which is a neat stone bridge; and the Chesterfield canal passes within a mile. Here is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Matteresey All Saints is an Ancient Parish which included Thorpe and Matters(e)y Thorpe. The village and civil parish of Mattersey are in the Bassetlaw district of Nottinghamshire Mattersey Wikipedia
The Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project have researched the history of the church and parish Matteresey All Saints
The church of All Saints has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 events :
The Register Office
County Council Offices
Church records[edit | edit source]
Mattersey, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|Mattersey, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Parish Online Records|
Mattersey All Saints
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1544-1954 Marriages 1543-1954 Burials 1544-1959 Bishop’s Transcripts 1608-1843
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Mattersey
Memorial inscriptions inside the Mattersey Church. A listing of the Monuments and Monumental inscriptions inside the Mattersey Church. Marble Plaque with a list of men who fell in the 1914-1918, and their Battalion, and 1939-1945 World Wars. Handwritten roll of Honour of those who Enlisted before the War 1914-1918, and those that enlised after the declaration in 1914, 1915 and 1916. An alphabetical listing of the Monuments in the churchyard, giving surname, given name, date died, possible relationship and age dating from1773 onwards. Also included is the Bassetlaw District Council Cemetery Thorpe Road, Mattersey. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.97, pages 44-50, Family History Library Ref 942.52 D25n
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
[edit | edit source]
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..