Mason County, West Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Mason County, West Virginia)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
West Virginia
Mason County

Guide to Mason County, West Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Point Pleasant
Organized: January 2, 1804
Parent County(s): Kanawha[1]
Neighboring Counties
Cabell  • Gallia (OH)  • Jackson  • Meigs (OH)  • Putnam
See County Maps
Courthouse
Point Pleasant Monument Square.jpg
Location Map
Wv-mason.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for George Mason. The County has Point Pleasant as its seat and the County was created January 2, 1804. The County is located in the southwest area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Mason County Courthouse
200 6th Street
Point Pleasant, WV 25550
Phone: 304-675-1997
Mason County Website

County Clerk has birth and death records from 1853; marriage and land records from 1804; military records from 1918.
Circuit Court Clerk has divorce and court records.[3]

Mason County, West Virginia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1804 1853 1805 1804 1804 1870
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1917. General compliance by 1925.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Mason County, West Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See West Virginia Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

For tips on accessing Mason census records online, see: West Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1810 1,991
1820 4,868 144.5%
1830 6,534 34.2%
1840 6,777 3.7%
1850 7,539 11.2%
1860 9,173 21.7%
1870 15,978 74.2%
1880 22,293 39.5%
1890 22,863 2.6%
1900 24,142 5.6%
1910 23,019 −4.7%
1920 21,459 −6.8%
1930 20,788 −3.1%
1940 22,270 7.1%
1950 23,537 5.7%
1960 24,459 3.9%
1970 24,306 −0.6%
1980 27,045 11.3%
1990 25,178 −6.9%
2000 25,957 3.1%
2010 27,324 5.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

This bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See West Virginia Land and Property for additional information about early West Virginia land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Mason County, West Virginia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section West Virginia Local Histories. West Virginia Archives

  • Evans, Norma Pontiff. First Families of McDowell County, West Virginia. s.l. Author, 1981; 929.1 M138.
  • Friedl, Joseph. A History of Education in McDowell County, West Virginia, 1858-1976.
  • Parsons, West Virginia, McClain Printing Company, 1975; 370.9754 F911h.
  • Goodykoontz, Wells. Address Delivered by Wells Goodykoontz, Tuesday, June 14, 1927, at the Unveiling of Tablet of Black Wolf, McDowell County, West Virginia . s.l., n.p., 1927. 929.2 H287 Pam.
  • Grisby, Louise Carter. Come Back With Me to Gary, West Virginia. s.l., n.p., n.d. 975.449 G857. 
  • Lad, Virginia. Sodom and Gomorrah of Today; or the History of Keystone, West Virginia. s.l., n.p., 1912; 975.449 L153.
  • McDowell County Centennial, 1858-1958. s.l., n.p., 1958. 975.449 M138c.
  • McDowell County, West Virginia, The Nations Coal Bin. s.l., n.p., n.d. 917.5449 M138.
  • Solins, Mrs. Samuel and Jones, Mrs. Paul. McDowell County History; A Pictorial History of McDowell County, West Virginia. Fort Worth, Texas, University Supply and Equipment Company, 1959. 975.449 M138.
  • Sowers, Auburn Daniel. Facts About McDowell County, West Virginia. s.l., n.p., 1912. 975.449 S731 Pam.
  • Welch West Virginia Chamber of Commerce. Welch, McDowell County, West Virginia. s.l., n.p., n.d.; 917.5449 W439 Pam.

Maps and Gazetteers

Jackson CountyPutnam CountyCabell CountyGallia CountyMeigs CountyWV MASON.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Virginia, Western District, Mason County on page 135.
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Collection 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.
  • West Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865

War of 1812

Mason County men served in the 106th Virginia Regiment.[7]

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Mason served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Mason County:

Union

- 8th Regiment, West Virginia Infantry.[8]

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

How can West Virginia tax lists help me?

  • 1805-1846 Heinegg, Paul. "Mason County Personal Property Tax List, 1805-1846," Free African Americans.com. Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.
  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Mason County is included in Vol. 6.

Online West Virginia Tax site

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Mason County, West Virginia" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mason_County,_West_Virginia."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mason County, West Virginia. Page 743-746 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 742-743.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Mason County, West Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mason_County,_West_Virginia, accessed 06 July 2018.
  7. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 134. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  8. Ronald R. Turner, 7th West Virginia Cavalry (Manassas, Va.: R.R. Turner, 1989). Digital version at Raleigh County West Virginia GenWeb; FHL Book 975.4 M2t.

Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Mason_County,_West_Virginia_Genealogy&oldid=3407231"