To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Masham, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Masham, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Masham, Yorkshire
St Mary Masham Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Hang
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Bedale
Registration District Bedale; Leyburn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1599
Bishop's Transcripts: 1742
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Catterick
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Masham
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office


Parish History[edit | edit source]

Masham St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: Burton upon Ure, Swinton with Warthermask and Roomer, Ellenstring, Ellingstons, Ellingstring, Fearby, Healey and Sutton, Healey with Sutton, Healey with Suttons, High Ellington, Ilton, Ilton cum Pott, Ilton with Pott, Low Ellington, Masham Moor, Nether Ellington, Nutwith and Roomer Common, Over Ellington, Pott, Roomer, Swinton, Swinton with Warthermarske, Swinton with Warthermask, Swinton with Warthermaske, and Burton upon Yore.

MASHAM (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, in the union of Bedale, wapentake of Hang-East, N.riding of York; containing, with the townships of Burton-upon-Ure, Ellingstring, Nether and Over Ellington, Fearby, Healey with Sutton, Ilton with Pott, Masham, and Swinton with Warthermask. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends,and Wesleyans. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Masham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Yorkshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP BTs = Yorkshire Bishop's Transcripts of Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Yorkshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Yorkshire, Archbishop Of York Marriage Licences Index, 1613-1839 (FindMyPast) - ($)
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Masham Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-2000
1534-1942
1537-2016
FMP BTs 1558-1914
1558-1899
1560-1919
FMP Banns

1600-1932


FMP Marr

1613-1839


JOIN

1538-1837


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1538-2005
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the North Yorkshire County Record Office.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Bedale Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 271-277. Date accessed: 22 October 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk