Masfjorden (Sandnes), Hordaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Masfjorden(Sandnes), Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search
Norway
Hordaland County
Masfjorden (Sandnes)


Guide to Masfjorden, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Church Records

Microfilm of parish registers available at the Family History Library for Masfjorden clerical district. Contains parish registers for the parishes Masfjorden, Frøyset, and Solheim. Masfjorden was separated from Lindås clerical district in 1875. For earlier records see Lindås clerical district. Records available for 1851-1913.


Images of digitized parish records available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
Masfjorden: 1872-1939
Masfjorden/Sandnes: 1876-1939
Masfjorden/Solheim: 1876-1896


For earlier records see Lindås.

Census Records

For early census records see Lindås

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Nordland, Lars, Masfjordboki, Bergen : A.S. Centraltrykkeriet, 1973-1979. Bergen : A.S. Centraltrykkeriet, 1973-1979. A genealogy of the people and their farms and a history of Masfjorden, Hordaland, Norway. FHL 948.32/M2 D2m A farm name index to this book is found in the following link. File:948.32-M2 D2m V1 1973 - MASFJORD.pdf

Farm Names

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

24 Aadnekvamme 31 Aamundsbotn 28 Anvik 16 Arekletten 10 Bakken 22 Bersvik 11 Birkeland 29 Bogen 18 Duesund 33 Elvik 7 Frøisæter 3 Hatlevik 1 Haugen 14 Haugen 1 Haugsdal ytre 4 Haugsøen 17 Holsnøen 34 Hope 34 Hopslien 14 Hosteland 14 Hærøen 32 Kvamme 12 Kvamsdal 37 Kvinge nordre 36 Kvingedal 21 Lauvik 13 Løveid 35 Mjøanger 19 Molland 27 Nørland 2 Rambjør 15 Raunøen 20 Reknes 20 Reknesøen 5 Risnes 30 Sandnes 23 Skjeggedal 9 Slidre lille 8 Tangedal 6 Torsvik 26 Totland 25 Totlandsvik

For a larger list of farm names, click here, then click on the next link provided:

https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/File:948.32-M2_D2m_V1_1973_-_MASFJORD.pdf

Probate Records

1702-1910: Records are found in Nordhordaland judicial district.

1773-1810: Clerical probate records are found in Nordhordaland Deanery.

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names