Martin County, Florida Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Martin County, Florida ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Stuart
Organized: May 30, 1925
Parent County(s): Palm Beach[1]
Neighboring Counties
Glades  • Hendry  • Okeechobee  • Palm Beach  • St. Lucie
See County Maps
Courthouse
FloridaMartinCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Fl-martin.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Flgenlogo100.png This page adopted by:
The FLGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for John W. Martin, Governor of Florida from 1925 to 1929. The County is located in the west-central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Martin County Courthouse
2401 SE Monterey Rd
Stuart, FL 34995
Phone: 561-288-5576
Martin County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1925.
County Health Department has birth, death and burial records. [3]

Martin County, Florida Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1899 1925 1899 1925 1925 1925 1830
*Statewide registration of births and deaths began in 1899. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Historic communities


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Martin, Florida online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Florida Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Martin County cemeteries.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1930 5,111
1940 6,295 23.2%
1950 7,807 24.0%
1960 16,932 116.9%
1970 28,035 65.6%
1980 64,014 128.3%
1990 100,900 57.6%
2000 126,731 25.6%
2010 146,318 15.5%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing census records online, see: Florida Census.

  • 1783 - Spanish Census USGenWeb
  • 1821 - Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
  • 1823 - Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
  • 1880 - Census African Born Blacks and Mulattos USGenWeb
  • 1885 - Florida State Population Census includes sex, age, relationship, occupation, place of birth of each family member and parents. Also census for agriculture, manufacture and mortality.
  • Federal Census Information from National Archives USGenWeb
  • State Census Information from Florida State Archives USGenWeb
  • Census of Pensioners Revolutionary Military Service USGenWeb

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page. List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Martin Co. GenWeb's (FL-Inc.) Governmental webpage.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

  • NARA Ships Passenger Lists - These passenger lists cover:
    • 1834-1897 - Immigration of Russians to the United States
    • 1/12/1846-12/31/1851 - Irish Famine
    • 1850-1897 - Germans to the United States
    • 1855-1900 - Italians to the United States

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Florida Territorial Land Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for most counties. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.

Martin Co. GenWeb's (FL-Inc.) Historical Information webpage.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Okeechobee CountySt. Lucie CountyPalm Beach CountyHendry CountyGlades CountyFL MARTIN.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Korean War

Vietnam War

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Indexes and Records

  • 1784–1990 - FamilySearch Florida Probate Records 1784-1990
  • 1810–1974 - Ancestry.com $ Florida Wills and Probate Records 1810-1974

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, Florida State Archives, or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

  • Stuart Florida Family History Center
    2401 Southwest Matheson Avenue
    Palm City FL 34990-2703
    Phone: 772-287-0167
    website

Libraries[edit | edit source]

  • Blake Library
    2351 SE Monterey Road
    Stuart, FL 34996
    Phone: 772-288-5702
    website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Historical Society Of Martin County
825 N.E. Ocean Boulevard
Stuart FL 34996
Phone: 772-225-1961
website

Martin County Genealogical Society
PO Box 275
Stuart, FL 34995-0275
Telephone: 772-220-1638
E-mail:mcgsfl@gmail.com
Website

Florida Historical Society
435 Brevard Ave.
Cocoa FL 32922
Phone: 321-690-1971
Website

Florida State Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 940927
Maitland, FL 32794-0927
Phone: 407-494-3747
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Green check.png
The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.


Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Martin County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, Wikipedia 04/25/2017.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Martin County, Florida," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, wikipedia accessed 30 January 2019.