Martin, Wiltshire Genealogy
(Redirected from Martin, Wiltshire)
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Guide to Martin, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
| Martin, Wiltshire | |
|---|---|
| Type | Chapelry |
| Civil Jurisdictions | |
| Hundred | South Damerham |
| County | Wiltshire |
| Poor Law Union | Fordingbridge |
| Registration District | Fordingbridge |
| Records begin | |
| Parish registers: 1589; For more records see Damerham | |
| Bishop's Transcripts: 1623 | |
| Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions | |
| Rural Deanery | Chalke |
| Diocese | Salisbury |
| Province | Canterbury |
| Legal Jurisdictions | |
| Probate Court | Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury |
| Location of Archive | |
| Wiltshire Record Office | |
Contents
Parish History[edit | edit source]
MARTIN (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Fordingbridge, S. division of the hundred of Damerham, Salisbury and Amesbury, and S. divisions of Wiltshire, 4½ miles (N. N. E.) from Cranborne; containing, with the tything of Tidpit, and the extra-parochial place of Allenford. There is a place of worship for Primitive Methodists. [1]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Martin parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
| Martin Online Parish Records | ||||||
| Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FS | 1538-1975 | 1538-1973 | 1538-1991 | |||
| FMP | 1530-1917 | 1538-1933 | 1538-1990 | |||
| FMP Banns | 1538-1933 | |||||
| ANC 1 | 1538-1812 | 1538-1812 | 1538-1812 | |||
| ANC 2 | 1813-1916 | 1754-1916 | 1813-1916 | |||
| ANC Marr | 1538-1837 | |||||
| IGI | ||||||
| FS Catalog PRs | ||||||
| FS Catalog BTs | ||||||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Information about the parish may be found on Wiltshire Online Parish Clerks. Records are also available at the Wiltshire & Swindon History Centre.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848)pp. 266-269 Date accessed: 02 October 2013.
- ↑ ArcherSoftware.co.uk
| ||||||||||
FamilySearch
