Marston Moreteyne, Bedfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Bedfordshire
Bedfordshire Parishes
Marston Moreteyne

Guide to Marston Moreteyne, Bedfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Marston Moreteyne, Bedfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Redbornestoke
County Bedfordshire
Poor Law Union Ampthill
Registration District Ampthill
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fleete
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Bedford
Location of Archive
Bedfordshire Record Office

Parish History

MARSTON MORETEYNE or Marston-Moretaine, is a village and a parish in Ampthill district, Bedfordshire. The village is 1 mile W of the Bedford and Bletchley railway, and 3½ miles NW of Ampthill. There are chapels for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Marston Moreteyne parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = England Births, Marriages, Deaths (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC = England & Wales Christenings and Marriages (Ancestry) - ($)
FREG = FreeREG - free
GIBBS = StevenGibbs.me.uk - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Marston Moreteyne Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1530-1980
1538-1988


FREG 1601-1902
1601-1902
1601-1659, 1810-1902
GIBBS 1837-1901
1837-1901
1837-1901
NBI



1602-1851
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1602-1746,1602-1812,
1754-1823,1813-1866,
1866-1885

1602-1812,1813-1880,
1881-1895



FS Catalog PRs
1653-1976
1653-1976
1653-1976
FS Catalog BTs
1602-1865
1602-1865
1602-1865

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Wesleyans
  • Primitive Methodists
  • Roman Catholic

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Bedfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Ampthill

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Marston Moreteyne on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales, publ. London & Edinburgh: 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 November, 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk