Marston Montgomery, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Marston Montgomery, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Marston Montgomery, Derbyshire|
Marston Montgomery St Giles Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Uttoxeter|
|Parish registers: 1661|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1662|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Marston Montgomery St Giles is an Ancient Parish in Derbyshire.
MARSTON-MONTGOMERY (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Uttoxeter, hundred of Appletree, S. division of the county of Derby, 6¾ miles (S. W. by S.) from Ashbourn. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Marston Montgomery parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Marston Montgomery St Giles (1661) Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1662-1879
Derbyshire Record Office reference D 1179 has deposited registers Bap 1661-1877 Mar 1661-1809, 1813-1997 Burials 1661-1955
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1662-1869 Mar 1662-1856 Burials 1662- 1869
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Marston Montgomery on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 266-269. Date accessed: 13 May 2013.