Marston Meysey, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Wiltshire
Wiltshire Parishes
Marston Meysey

Guide to Marston Meysey, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Marston Meysey, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Highworth, Cricklade and Staple
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Cirencester
Registration District Cirencester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1742
Bishop's Transcripts: 1578; 1613
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fairford
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

MARSTON-MAISEY (St. James), a parish, in the union of Cirencester, hundred of Highworth, Cricklade, and Staple, Cricklade and N. divisions of Wiltshire, 3½ miles (N. E.) from Cricklade.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Marston Meysey, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[5]
Marston Meysey, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1813-1913 1813-1913 1754-1938 1754-1938 1813-1893 1813-1893
NIM
1742-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848)pp.266-269 Date accessed: 02 October 2013.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 23 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1938', Ancestry, accessed 21 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 28 June 2016.
  5. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.