To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Marston, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Marston, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

MARSTON, a township, in the parish of Great Budworth, union of Northwich, hundred of Bucklow, N. division of the county of Chester, 2¼ miles NNE from Northwich. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Marston Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's =FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Marston St Paul (1874) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1874-1909
  NONE
1875-1934
  NONE
1875-1930
  NONE
FS BT's
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

Created 1875 from Great Budworth and Lostock Graham.

Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for Marston, 1874-1950. Cheshire Record Office call no.: P57/1/1-2, P57/2/1-2, P57/3, P57/4.

Parish Registers: Marston Film
Baptisms, 1874-1950. Marriages, 1875-1950. Banns of marriages, 1875-1917. Burials, 1875-1931.
2262978 Items 4 - 9
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

Not Known

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]

  • Northwich (1837-1974)
  • Vale Royal (1974-98)
  • Cheshire Central (1998-2007)
  • Cheshire (2007-09)
  • Cheshire West & Chester (2009 +)

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

  • Northwich

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 263-266. Date accessed: 24 January 2014. http://british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51136#s6



Bibliography[edit | edit source]


FamilySearch