Marshall County, West Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
West Virginia
Marshall County

Guide to Marshall County, West Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Moundsville
Organized: March 12, 1835
Parent County(s): Ohio[1]
Neighboring Counties
Belmont (OH)  • Greene (PA)  • Monroe (OH)  • Ohio  • Washington (PA)  • Wetzel
See County Maps
Courthouse
Marshall County, West Virginia Courthouse.JPG
Location Map
Wv-marshall.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for John Marshall. The County has Moundsville as its seat and the County was created March 12, 1835. The County is located in the northwest area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Marshall County Courthouse
7th Street
P O Box 459
Moundsville, WV 26041
Phone: 304-845-1220
Marshall County Website

County Clerk has birth and death from 1853, marriage and land records from 1835, probate records from 1850.
Clerk of the Circuit Court has divorce and land records.[3]

Marshall County, West Virginia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1835 1853 1835 1835 1850 1870
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1917. General compliance by 1925.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1835--Marshall County was created 12 March 1835 from Ohio County when it was still part of Virginia. It became part of West Virginia in 1863.
  • County seat: Moundsville[5]

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Marshall County, West Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See West Virginia Cemeteries for more information
  • There are three cemeteries on Fork Ridge Road, just outside of Moundsville in rural Marshall County, West Virginia: Fork Ridge Baptist, Fork Ridge Christian and Fork Ridge Universalist. Each may be referred to as Fork Ridge Cemetery.

Census Records

For tips on accessing Marshall census records online, see: West Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1840 6,937
1850 10,138 46.1%
1860 12,997 28.2%
1870 14,941 15.0%
1880 18,840 26.1%
1890 20,735 10.1%
1900 26,444 27.5%
1910 32,388 22.5%
1920 33,681 4.0%
1930 39,831 18.3%
1940 40,189 0.9%
1950 36,893 −8.2%
1960 38,041 3.1%
1970 37,598 −1.2%
1980 41,608 10.7%
1990 37,356 −10.2%
2000 35,519 −4.9%
2010 33,107 −6.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • McMechen

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • Cresap - Cresap, Joseph Ord and Bernarr Cresap. The History of the Cresaps. Revised edition. Gallatin, Tenn.: Cresap Society, 1987. FHL Book 929.273 C863c 1987.

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See West Virginia Land and Property for additional information about early West Virginia land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Marshall County, West Virginia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section West Virginia Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Marshall County

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Virginia, Western District, Marshall County on page 135.

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Marshall served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Marshall County: Civil War service men from Marshall County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Marshall County.

Union

- 1st Regiment, West Virginia Cavalry
- 1st Regiment, West Virginia Infantry, Companies A, B, C, E, H, and K.
- 1st Regiment, West Virginia Light Artillery, Batteries A, C and D Light Artillery

Records and Histories are available, including:

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

  • Marshall County, WV website has an index of vital records. Use the link titled 'Click here to search online for documents on file' near the top right of page. Enter search criteria on the search page. Be patient; the search can take a long time. Note that sometimes a pop up message says 'This page can not be found.' Again, be patient. Search results may yet display, even after this message. This site has birth, marriage, death, liens, wills, ucc, and deeds. Some are actual images. Many are dates and other information. To view the image, try West Virginia Vital Research Records Search. This site has images of the records. If results of your query show two links for one person, check out both links because there may be different types of records for a single vital event. Although not all records are available, there are many birth, death and marriage records on these web pages. Using both web sites (the Marshall county and the West Virginia sites) is recommended.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Marshall County, West Virginia" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marshall_County,_West_Virginia."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Marshall County, West Virginia. Page 743-746 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 742-743.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Marshall County, West Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marshall_County,_West_Virginia, accessed 06 July 2018.