Marshall County, Illinois Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Illinois
Marshall County

Guide to Marshall County, Illinois ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Marshall County, Illinois
Map
Boundary map of Marshall County, Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: January 19, 1839
County Seat Lacon
Courthouse
Marshall County Courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives
Address Marshall County Courthouse
122 N. Prairie
Lacon, Illinois 61540
(309) 246-6325
Marshall County Website


Marshall County Organization

Marshall County's civil records start the following years:

                                     Beginning Dates for Marshall County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1870
1830
1877
1840
1839
1830

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Marshall County are kept, see the Marshall County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts

John Marshall
The county was named for John Marshall, a soldier of the Revolution, Statesman, author and jurist, Ambassador to France, Representative in Congress from Virginia, Secretary of State and Chief Justice of the United States Supreme Court.

Parent County

  • 1839--Marshall County was created 19 January 1839 from Putnam County.  County seat:  Lacon [1]

Description

The county was named for John Marshall, Chief Justice of the United States Supreme Court, who died in 1835. The county seat is Lacon and the county was organized on January 19, 1839. The County is located in the central part of the state.[2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

1825-1839 Putnam
1827-1827 Peoria
1823-1825 Fulton
1821-1823 Sangamon
1817-1821 Bond
1812-1821 Madison
1801-1812 St. Clair
1795-1901 Knox, Northwest Territory

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Records and Resources

Biography

Marshcall County Biography Bibliography  (WorldCat)

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Marshall, Illinois online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Illinois Cemeteries for more information

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190016,370
191015,679−4.2%
192014,760−5.9%
193013,023−11.8%
194013,1791.2%
195013,025−1.2%
196013,3342.4%
197013,302−0.2%
198014,4798.8%
199012,846−11.3%
200013,1802.6%
201012,640−4.1%
IL Counties 1900-1990

Church Records

Court Records

Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.


Ethnic Research

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.

Land and Property

Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

Local Histories

Maps

Ilmarshall.jpg

Military Records

For information about using Military records see Illinois Military Records

Veteran's Honor Roll    ( Illinois Ancestors ) This site list the names alphabetically of the individual, war, rank, branch, unit, death date, and cemetery

War of 1812

Military Land Grants in Marshall County Illinois for Soldiers of the War of 1812 - USGenWeb

Blackhawk War

Captain Robert Barnes' Company - USGenWeb

Civil War

Civil War service men from Marshall County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Marshall County.

Artillery

- Springfield Light Battery

Infantry

- 11th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (3 months), Company B
- 11th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (3 years) Company B, and Company I
- 17th Regiment, Illinois Infantry  Company B
- 18th (Reorganized) Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company K
- 44th_Regiment,_Illinois_Infantry, Company C
- 47th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D, and Company G
- 47th (Consolidated) Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company I
- 53rd_Regiment,_Illinois_Infantry, Company H.
- 65th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (2nd Scotch Regiment Cameron's Highlanders), Company C.
- 77th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- 86th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B, and  Company E.
- 138th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company K


  • 1861-1862 Militia Rolls IRAD-ISU

World War I

World War I Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918 Ancestry

World War II

Army Casualties   U.S National Archives and Records Administration

Naturalization

Original naturalization records are held in the office of the County Clerk. See Illinois Naturalization Records for more information about using naturalization records.

Newspapers

Probate Records

Online Probate Records


Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.

Repositories

IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois. Illinois State University houses the records for Marshall County.

County Courthouse

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Marshall County are kept, see the Marshall County Courthouse page.

Family History Center

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah (United States) and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources to assist you in the research and study of your genealogy. Currently there are no Family History Centers located directly in Marshall County.

You may search your address for a center near you on the FamilySearch site. The following centers are located in surrounding counties. Their wiki pages may supply hours and other information.

Find a family history center

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)

Illinois State University (ISU)
2016 Warehouse Road Campus
Box 1520
Normal, Illinois 61802
Phone: 1-309-452-6027

Illinois Regional Archives Depository System - Local Governmental Records Listings Arranged by County

Public Libraries

Public Libraries in Marshall County

Social Groups Online

Societies

Marshall County Historical Society
314 Fifth Street
Lacon, Il 61549
Telephone Number:309-246-2349
E-mail:MarshallCountyHistory@gmail.com
Website

City of Henry Historical and Genealogical Society
610 North St
Henry IL 61537

Taxation

Vital Records

See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.


[1] Order Birth and Death Certificates Online

Birth

  • 1878-Present - The original Marshall County birth records are at the County office. The following records are available:
  • 1878-1914 Birth Certificates - IRAD-ISU

Marriage

  • 1839-Present - the original Marshall County marriage records are at the County office. The following records are available:
  • 1839-1921 Marriage Licenses - IRAD-ISU

Death

  • 1877-Present - The original Marshall County death records are at the County office. The following records are available:
  • 1877-1914 Death Certificates - IRAD-ISU
  • 1877-1914 Death Certificates, Stillbirth -IRAD-ISU
  • 1874-1888 Coroner's Inquest Record - IRAD-ISU

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Websites

Databases Pertinent to Marshall County
Local Governmental Records Database
Name Index to Illinois Local Governments
Illinois Statewide Marriage Index
Illinois Statewide Death Index, 1916–1950
Illinois Public Domain Land Tract Sales Database
Federal Township Plats of Illinois

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 196. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Marshall County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marshall_County,_Illinois 04/17/2017.