Marquette County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Marquette County, Wisconsin)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
Marquette County


Guide to Marquette County, Wisconsin ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Montello
Organized: December 7, 1836
Parent County(s): Brown County[1]
Neighboring Counties
Adams  • Columbia  • Green Lake  • Waushara
See County Maps
Courthouse
Marquette County Courthouse Wisconsin.jpg
Location Map
WI Marquette.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County has Montello as its seat and the County was created 1848. The County is located in the central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Marquette County Courthouse
77 W Park Street
Montello, WI 53949
Phone: 608-297-9136
Marquette County Website

Register of Deeds has birth records from 1876, marriage and death records from 1869 and land records.
Clerk of Courts has divorce and court records from 1878, and naturalization records between 1868-1936.
Register of Probate has probate records from 1890.[3]

Marquette County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1876 1869 1869 1878 1836 1890 1820
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1907. General compliance year unknown.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1836--Marquette County was created 7 December 1836 from Brown County.
  • County seat: Montello[5]

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county: [6]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Marquette County, Wisconsin online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1840 18
1850 8,641 47905.6%
1860 8,233 −4.7%
1870 8,056 −2.1%
1880 8,908 10.6%
1890 9,676 8.6%
1900 10,509 8.6%
1910 10,741 2.2%
1920 10,443 −2.8%
1930 9,388 −10.1%
1940 9,097 −3.1%
1950 8,839 −2.8%
1960 8,516 −3.7%
1970 8,865 4.1%
1980 11,672 31.7%
1990 12,321 5.6%
2000 15,832 28.5%
2010 15,404 −2.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Marquette census records online, see: Wisconsin Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wisconsin denominations, view the Wisconsin Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Wisconsin Land and Property for additional information about early Wisconsin land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Wisconsin Searches at RootsWeb

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Waushara CountyAdams CountyGreen Lake CountyColumbia CountyWI MARQUETTE.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Marquette served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Marquette:

- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company C
- 7th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company E.
- 12th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company B

Company D, 4th Wisconsin Cavalry Organized in Kilbourn City in the Spring of 1861

Korean War

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Marquette Clerk of Circuit Court and are housed at the Marquette Courthouse. See the wiki page Wisconsin Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Wisconsin tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned property or other items that could be taxed were listed, some residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records. For more information see the Wiki page, Wisconsin Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Most counties started keeping records in the 1870s. In 1907, the counties began sending copies to the state.

For pre-1907 births, deaths, and marriages, search the Wisconsin Genealogy Index.

For additional information, see Wisconsin Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

  • Area Research Center
    Polk Library, University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh
    800 Algoma Blvd.
    Oshkosh, WI 54901
    Phone: 920-424-1234
    Website
    Contact info

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Marquette County Historical Society
    125 Lawrence Street
    PO Box 172
    Westfield, WI 53964
    Phone: 608-981-2234
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Marquette County, Wisconsin " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marquette_County,_Wisconsin."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Marquette County, Wisconsin. Page 755-760, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 757-759.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Marquette County, Michigan," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marquette_County,_Michigan, accessed 23 September 2018.