To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Market Drayton, Shropshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Market Drayton, Shropshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Market Drayton, Shropshire
Market Drayton St Mary Shropshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Bradford
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Market Drayton
Registration District Market Drayton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1682
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Market Drayton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

DRAYTON-IN-HALES, or Market-Drayton (St.Mary), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, chiefly in the Drayton division of the hundred of North Bradford, N. division of the county of Shropshire, but partly in the N. division of the hundred of Pirehilland of the county of Stafford; comprising the townships of Betton, Drayton Magna and Parva, Longslow,Sutton, and Woodeaves, in Shropshire; and Almington, and Bloore-in-Tyrley with Hales, in Stafford. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Market Drayton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Shropshire Parish Registers, 1538-1918 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Shropshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Shropshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC = Shropshire, England, Extracted Church of England Parish Records, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
TGEN = Shropshire Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Market Drayton Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1918
1538-1918
1538-1918
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-1900
1538-1906
1518-1900
FMP Banns

1754-1900


ANC 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
TGEN 1538-1800s
1538-1800s
1538-1800s
JOIN

1538-1837


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records may be found on Mel Lockie. Records are also available at the Shropshire Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SAL/MarketDrayton/index.html

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 88-91. Date accessed: 30 June 2012.
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Shropshire) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk