To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Mariposa County, California Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Mariposa County, California)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Mariposa County, California ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Mariposa County, California
Map
Map of California highlighting Mariposa County
Location in the state of California
Map of the U.S. highlighting California
Location of California in the U.S.
Facts
Founded information needed
County Seat Maripose
Courthouse
CaliforniaMariposaCourthouse.jpg
Address Mariposa County Courthouse

5100 Bullion St
PO Box 35
Maripose, CA 95338
Phone:. 209.966.5719
Mariposa County Website


County Information[edit | edit source]

Mariposa County, California Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1873 1851 1873 1950 1850 1850 1850
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1905. General compliance by 1920.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Mariposa County California Courthouse.jpg

 

County Clerk has divorce, probate and court records
County Recorder has birth, marriage, death and burial records[2]

Historical Facts[edit | edit source]

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Mariposa County, California

Parent County[edit | edit source]

18 February 1850: Mariposa was created as an original county. County seat: Mariposa[2]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named from Mariposa Creek, which was so named by Spanish explorers in 1806, when they discovered great clusters of butterflies ("mariposas" in Spanish) in the foothills of the Sierras. The county seat Mariposa and the county was created 1850.[3] The County is located in the central area of the state.[4]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biography[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Mariposa, California online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See California Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites may have additional information on Mariposa County cemeteries.

Census[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Mariposa County, California Genealogy census records online, see: California Census.

Church History and Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.

Court[edit | edit source]

Crime and Criminals[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Germans[edit | edit source]

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Mariposa County, California Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Stanislaus CountyTuolumne CountyMerced CountyMadera CountyCA MARIPOSA.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military History and Records[edit | edit source]

World War I[edit | edit source]
World War II[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Mariposa County, California Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate[edit | edit source]

The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Mariposa - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Archives, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Societies[edit | edit source]

Taxation[edit | edit source]

California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

See also How to order California Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder.

Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]

Voting Registers[edit | edit source]

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Mariposa Museum and History Center
5119 Jessie Street
Mariposa, California 95338
Phone:209-966-2924
Website

Northern Mariposa County History Center
10301 Highway 49
Coulterville, CA 95311
Phone: 209-878-3015

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mariposa County, California. Page 84-88 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 81-83.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mariposa County, California. Page 85 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Mariposa County, California Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/cal/mariposa/ 05/04/2017.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Mariposa County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mariposa_County,_California 05/04/2017.