Marion County, Mississippi Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Mississippi
Marion County

Guide to Marion County, Mississippi ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Columbia
Organized: 9 December 1811
Parent County(s): Amite, Wayne and Franklin[1]
Neighboring Counties
Jefferson Davis  • Lamar  • Lawrence  • Pearl River  • Walthall  • Washington (LA)
See County Maps
Courthouse
MississippiMarionCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Marion County.svg.png
Adoption
Francis Marion

County Information

Description

This county was named for "The Swamp Fox", Revolutionary War Brigadier General Francis Marion (c1732-1795).[2]. Marion County is located in the south-central area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse

Marion County Courthouse
250 Broad Street, Ste. 2
Columbia, MS 39429
Phone: 601-736-2691
Marion County Website

Clerk Chancery Court has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records.[4]

Marion County, Mississippi Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1812 1821 1812 1820

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1811 Marion County was created 9 December 1811 from Amite, Wayne and Franklin Counties. In 1811, Marion County like the rest of what is now Mississippi was still part of the Mississippi Territory and not yet a state. In 1816, the Mississippi Territory was divided into the states of Mississippi and Alabama.[5]
  • County seat: Columbia[6]

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Marion County, Mississippi:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Marion County, Mississippi online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Mississippi Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

For tips on accessing Marion County census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Columbia

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • Marion County family pages. Marion County Mississippi Genealogy Society. Photographs, wills, stories, family trees, postcards, memories and more. Hosted, edited, published, and researched by Shannon Gorman.

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Marion County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Lawrence CountyJefferson Davis CountyLamar CountyPearl River CountyWalthall CountyWashington Parish250PX
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


2008 Map of Marion County, Mississippi [1]

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Marion County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Marion County:

- 7th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company D - Jeff Davis Sharpshooters
Company F - Marion’s Men

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

  • Mystery Farm Series, 1950s, by Shannon Gorman. A series of aerial photographs of local farms in and around Marion County, Mississippi, with follow-up articles on the families that owned the farms.

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Marion County, Mississippi Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Marion County, Mississippi Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Marion County Historical Society
    200 Second Street, Suite 3
    Columbia, MS 39429
    Phone: 601-731-3999
  • Marion County Mississippi Genealogy Society
    Email: Shannon@MsMarion.com

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "Francis Marion," Wikipedia.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Marion, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marion_County,_Mississippi."
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Marion County, Mississppi",(http://www.MsMarion.com, 2015).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.