To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Marion County, Alabama Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Marion County, Alabama ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Marion County, Alabama
Map
Map of Alabama highlighting Marion County
Location in the state of Alabama
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alabama
Location of Alabama in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 13, 1818
County Seat Hamilton
Courthouse
Marion County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Address Marion County Courthouse
132 S. Military Street
Hamilton, AL 35570
Phone: (205) 921-7451 Marion County Website


County Information[edit | edit source]

Marion County, Alabama Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1909 1885 1909 1887 1887 1885 1816
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1908. General compliance for births by 1927 and for deaths 1925.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Probate Judge has birth and death records 1909 -1919; marriage records from 1885, land records from 1887; and military discharge records from 1920 [2]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named in honor of Francis Marion of South Carolina, general in the American Revolutionary War. The County has Hamilton as its seat and the County was created February 13, 1818.[3] The County is located in the northwest area of the state.[4]

History[edit | edit source]

Francis Marion

The county is named after "The Swamp Fox" Revolutionary War Brigadier General Francis Marion (c1732-1795).[5]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1818--Marion County was created 13 February 1818 from Tuscaloosa County.
County seat: Hamilton [6]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Fire.png

Marion County had destructive courthouse fires in 1866, and 1883. See Research in Alabama: A Genealogical Guide  page 28 for suggested alternative sources to overcome this loss.[7]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
  • Sunny Home
  • Texas
  • Thornhill
  • Tucker
  • Weston
  • Whitehouse
Townships
  • Clay
  • Dallas
  • Franklin
  • Indiana
  • Knoxville
  • Lake Prairie
  • Lake Prairie
  • Pleasant Grove
  • Red Rock
  • Summit
  • Union
  • Washington
Ghost towns
  • Pearces Mills


Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Almarion.jpg

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Marion, Alabama online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Alabama Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Marion county cemeteries.

Census[edit | edit source]

Marion County, Alabama
Year Pop.
1830 4,058
1840 5,847 44.1%
1850 7,833 34.0%
1860 11,182 42.8%
1870 6,059 −45.8%
1880 9,364 54.5%
1890 11,347 21.2%
1900 14,494 27.7%
1910 17,495 20.7%
1920 22,008 25.8%
1930 25,967 18.0%
1940 28,776 10.8%
1950 27,264 −5.3%
1960 21,837 −19.9%
1970 23,788 8.9%
1980 30,041 26.3%
1990 29,830 −0.7%
2000 31,214 4.6%
2010 30,776 −1.4%

For tips on accessing Marion County, Alabama Genealogy census records online, see: Alabama Census.

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Marion County, Alabama Genealogy see:

  • Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Marion County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2006. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes free surname index. FHL Book 976.189 E7b.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Marion County, Alabama Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

Maps[edit | edit source]

FranklinWinstonWalkerFayetteLamarMonroe County, MSItawamba County, MSAL MARION.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Civil War service men from Marion County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Marion County.

- 5th Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company E, F, H and K
- 16th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G and K
- 26th Regiment, Alabama Infantry (O'Neal's), Company F, G and H
- 42nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K

Online Records

World War I[edit | edit source]
World War II[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Finding More Alabama Newspapers[edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Marion County, Alabama Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Transcription of the following newspapers:

Marion County Herald - (1887 - 1890)

The Guin Dispatch - (1888-1889)  

The Hamilton Free Press - 1893 - 1894

The Hamilton News Press - 1895

Marion County News (1896 - 1899)

The Hamilton Appeal 1896

The Guin Gazette - 1897 

The Gazette Appeal - 1897

Marion County Democrat (1903-1904)

Marion County Republican - (1908)

Marion county articles from various newspapers around the country - 1838 - 1900

Marion County articles from various newspapers around the country - 1901 - ?

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Marion County is in District 3.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online $.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama. See also How to order Alabama Vital Records


Birth Records[edit | edit source]
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
  • To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1861, 1865, 1886-1901,1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
  • 1887-1895 - Marion County Marriage Books 1 and 2 Index 1887-1895. Batch M593361 at FamilySearch - free.[9]
  • 1887-1900 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920" at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.


Death Records[edit | edit source]
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.


Vital Record Substitutes[edit | edit source]

Voting Registers[edit | edit source]

Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History.  Marion County has one book.

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Marion County Genealogical Society
P. O. Drawer 1527
Winfield, AL
35594
Link

Marion County Historical Society
P. O. Box 492
Hamilton, AL
35570
Link

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Winfield Public Library
185 Ashwood Drive
Winfield, Alabama 35594
Telephone: 205-487-2484

The library has a genealogy section.

Marion Clyde Nix Public Library
205-921-4290

Family History Centers
[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Family History Center Locator

Marion County Alabama Genealogy Websites[edit | edit source]

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.

Marion County Alabama Genealogy References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Marion County, Alabama. Page 37 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 33.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Marion County p. 38. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Genealogy Trails History Group, "Marion County, Alabama Genealogy and History", http://genealogytrails.com/ala/marion/ 6/08/2017.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Marion, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marion_County,_Alabama 6/08/2017.
  5. "Francis Marion," Wikipedia.
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. Marilyn Davis Barefield, Researching in Alabama: a Genealogical Guide (Birmingham, Alabama : Birmingham Public Library, 1998), 28. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Book 976.1 D27b 1998.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Marion County, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marion_County,_Alabama, accessed 22 October 2018.
  9. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/c/cf/Igialabamals.pdf.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.