Mariestad Parish, Skaraborg, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Sweden
Skaraborg County
Mariestad Parish

Guide to Mariestad Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Mariestad Church

History

Mariestad Municipality is a municipality in Västra Götaland County in western Sweden and its seat is located in the city of Mariestad.
The present municipality was formed in 1971, when the City of Mariestad was united with four surrounding rural municipalities.

[1]

Mariestad Parish, Skaraborg, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift add here
Pastorat add here
Län Skaraborg
Landskap Västergötland
Härad add here
Tingslag add here
Domsaga add here
Fögderi add here
Kommun add here
Militär indelning add here


Place Names

In 1851-1855 the city of Mariestad is divided into the following divisions:

  • Six districts or wards (rotar) numbered 1 to 6.
  • Seventy-five ground plots (Tomt) numbered 1 to 75. 

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes

Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Skaraborg Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Skaraborg and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies

References

Mariestad, Husförhörslängd 1851-1855, Ortregister