March, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to March, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||North Witchford|
|Registration District||North Witchford|
|Parish registers: 1548; For more records see Doddington|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
MARCH, a market-town and chapelry, in the parish of Doddington, union and hundred of North Witchford, Isle of Ely, county of Cambridge, 31 miles (N. by W.) from Cambridge, and 80 (N.) from London. The chapel, dedicated to St. Wendreda, a very ancient structure with a spire at the west end, was erected about the year 1343.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
March parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|March Online Parish Records|
|IGI||1811-1816, 1817-1820, 1821-1824, 1825-1828, 1862-1881||
||1811-1816, 1817-1821, 1821-1825, 1825-1828||
||1811-1815, 1816-1820, 1821-1824, 1825-1827, 1862-1881|| |
|FS Catalog BTs||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
- Calvinistic Baptist
- General Baptist
- Particular Baptist
- Primitive Methodist
- Roman Catholic
- Society of Friends/Quaker
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
March on GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 253-257.Date accessed and adapted: 08 July 2013.