Marathon County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
Marathon County

Guide to Marathon County, Wisconsin ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Wausau
Organized: February 9, 1850
Parent County(s): Portage County[1]
Neighboring Counties
Clark  • Langlade  • Lincoln  • Portage  • Shawano  • Taylor  • Waupaca  • Wood
See County Maps
Courthouse
Marathon County Courthouse, Wisconsin.jpg
Location Map
WI Marathon.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for the battlefield at Marathon, Greece. The County has Wausau as its seat and the County was created 1850. The County is located in the central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Marathon County Courthouse
500 Forest Street
Wausau, WI 54403
Phone: 715-261-1500
Marathon County Website

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death records from 1900, and land records from 1850.
Clerk of Courts has divorce and court records from 1900.
Probate County Court has probate records from 1900.[3]

Marathon County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1870 1861 1841 1851 1850

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1850--Marathon County was created 9 February 1850 from Portage County.
  • County seat: Wausau[4]

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Marathon County, Wisconsin:

Cities

  • Abbotsford†
  • Colby†
  • Marshfield†
  • Mosinee
  • Schofield
  • Wausau

† Only partially in Marathon County.

Towns

  • Bergen (created 10 Jan 1870)
  • Berlin (created 12 Feb 1859)
  • Bern (created 9 Jan 1902)
  • Bevent (created 19 Apr 1917)
  • Brighton (created 20 May 1873, name vacated 26 Mar 1874, reestablished 17 Aug 1874)
  • Cassel (created 12 Nov 1891)
  • Cleveland (created 14 Nov 1884)
  • Day (created 10 Jun 1881)
  • Easton (created 24 Oct 1861, name vacated 21 Mar 1865, reestablished 12 Nov 1878)
  • Eau Pleine (created 14 Nov 1884)
  • Elderon (created 21 Dec 1887)
  • Emmet (created 20 Dec 1888)
  • Frankfort (created 18 Dec 1889)
  • Franzen (created 9 Jan 1901)
  • Green Valley (created 12 Nov 1913)
  • Guenther (created 23 Mar 1921)
  • Halsey (created 15 Nov 1883)
  • Hamburg (created 11 Feb 1876)
  • Harrison (created 20 Dec 1888)
  • Hewitt (created 19 Dec 1894)
  • Holton (created 16 Sep 1875)
  • Hull (created 4 Mar 1873)
  • Johnson (created 15 Nov 1883)
  • Knowlton (created 12 Feb 1859)
  • Kronenwetter (created 12 Nov 1886)
  • Maine (created 1866)
  • Marathon (created 1851, name vacated 12 Nov 1856, reestablished 12 Feb 1859)
  • McMillan (created 21 Dec 1888)
  • Mosinee (created 12 Nov 1856)
  • Norrie (created 30 Dec 1886)
  • Plover (created 20 Jun 1890)
  • Reid (created 1917)
  • Rib Falls (created 12 Dec 1876)
  • Rib Mountain (created 12 Nov 1930)
  • Rietbrock (created 12 Nov 1879)
  • Ringle (created 9 Jan 1901)
  • Spencer (created 14 Nov 1876)
  • Stettin (created 1 Mar 1860)
  • Texas (created 17 Mar 1858)
  • Wausau (created 12 Nov 1856)
  • Weston (created 12 Feb 1859)
  • Wien (created 12 Nov 1867)

Villages

  • Athens
  • Birnamwood
  • Brokaw
  • Dorchester
  • Edgar
  • Elderon
  • Fenwood
  • Hatley
  • Kronenwetter
  • Marathon
  • Rothschild
  • Spencer
  • Stratford
  • Unity
  • Weston

Unincorporated Villages

  • Bevent
  • Bradley
  • Cherokee
  • Dancy
  • Galloway
  • Glandon
  • Granite Heights
  • Halder
  • Hamburg
  • Hogarty
  • Knowlton
  • Little Chicago
  • Little Rose
  • March Rapids
  • Milan
  • Moon
  • Norrie
  • Nutterville
  • Peplin
  • Pike Lake
  • Poniatowski
  • Rib Falls
  • Ringle
  • Rozellville
  • Shantytown
  • Sunset
  • Taegesville
  • Wien

Defunct Towns

  • Bull Falls (created 9 Jan 1849 in Portage County, set off to Marathon County 9 Feb 1850)
  • Eau Claire (created 12 Nov 1856, renamed Weston 12 Feb 1859)
  • Erickson (created 6 Jan 1905, renamed Flieth)
  • Flieth (created 21 Mar 1905, renamed Rib Mountain 12 Nov 1930)
  • Jenny (created 10 Nov 1857, set off to Lincoln County 4 Mar 1874)
  • Pike Lake (created 30 Dec 1886, renamed Bevent 19 Apr 1917)

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Marathon County, Wisconsin online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

For tips on accessing Marathon census records online, see: Wisconsin Census.

  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.Identifies by name of head of household. Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.
  • 1905 - 1905 Marathon County Census-- Index of handwritten cards from the 1905 county census.Search results include surname, first name, age, location, and a link to the detailed record.A copy of the original census information can be ordered.Note that each record in the original census contains surname, location, first name, relationship, sex, race, age, marital status, birthplace, parent's birthplace, occupation and notes.
  • Census substitute - Early Wausau City Directories. 1883, 1886, 1888, 1893, 1910, 1912, 1914 city directories are included in this index. The Marathon County Historical Society will provide a copy of the original city directory record for a fee. The Family History Library has additional early Wausau city directories on film.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wisconsin denominations, view the Wisconsin Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

  • Early Wausau City Directories. 1883, 1886, 1888, 1893, 1910, 1912, 1914 city directories are included in this index. The Marathon County Historical Society will provide a copy of the original city directory record for a fee. The Family History Library has additional early Wausau city directories on film.

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

  • FuneralHomes History and list of funeral homes in Marathon County (mostly Wausau), along with addresses and whether records can be read there.

Genealogies

Wimarath Stories

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Wisconsin Land and Property for additional information about early Wisconsin land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available from the Marathon County Historical Society. This collection of histories indexed and is searchable by surname or business name.

Wimarath Stories has links to many various stories, interviews, histories of towns, etc.

Maps and Gazetteers

WI MARATHON.JPG

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Marathon served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Marathon:

- 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry Reorganized, Companies D and F
- 12th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company G

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Information about the history of the Asylum and Poor Farm comes from copies of materials at the Marathon County Historical Library, 410 McIndoe, Wausau,WI Wimarath Insane covering years 1893 - 1971

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Marathon Clerk of Circuit Court and are housed at the Marathon Courthouse. See the wiki page Wisconsin Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Wisconsin tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned property or other items that could be taxed were listed, some residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records. For more information see the Wiki page, Wisconsin Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Most counties started keeping records in the 1870s. In 1907, the counties began sending copies to the state.

For pre-1907 births, deaths, and marriages, search the Wisconsin Genealogy Index.

For additional information, see Wisconsin Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

  • Neils R. Kampenga Archives and Area Research Center
    University of Wisconsin Library
    900 Reserve Street, Room 520
    Stevens Point, WI 54481-1962
    Phone: 715-346-2586
    Website
    Email: archives@uwsp.edu
    Facebook

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Marathon County Genealogical Society
    PO Box 1512
    Wausau, WI 54402-1512
    Website
  • Marathon County Historical Society
    410 McIndoe Street
    Wausau, WI 54403
    Office: 715-842-5750
    Library: 715-848-0378
    Fax: 715-848-0576
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Marathon County, Wisconsin " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marathon_County,_Wisconsin."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.