Manitoba, Canada Genealogy
Guide to Manitoba ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
|Manitoba Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Manitoba Information[edit | edit source]
- The first peoples were Indigenous, including Assiniboine, Ojibwa, Cree and Dene peoples.
- In the early 17th century, fur traders began arriving in the area and establishing settlements along the Nelson, Assiniboine, and Red rivers, and on the Hudson Bay shoreline.
- England secured control of the region in 1673, and subsequently created a territory named Rupert's Land which was placed under the administration of the Hudson's Bay Company.
- Rupert's Land, which covered the entirety of present-day Manitoba, grew and evolved from 1673 until 1869 with significant settlements of Indigenous and Métis people in the Red River Colony.
- In 1869, negotiations with the Government of Canada for the creation of the province of Manitoba commenced. During the negotiations, several factors led to an armed uprising of the Métis people against the Government of Canada, a conflict known as the Red River Rebellion.
- The resolution of the rebellion and further negotiations led to Manitoba becoming the fifth province to join Canadian Confederation, when the Parliament of Canada passed the Manitoba Act on July 15, 1870.
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Links to articles on getting started with Manitoba research.
Manitoba Research Tools Links to articles and websites that assist in Manitoba research.
Manitoba Map[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records - databases and record images on FamilySearch
- Family History Center locator map
Additional Resources[edit | edit source]
- "Manitoba", in Wikipedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manitoba, accessed 2 December 2020.