To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Ancoats All Souls, Lancashire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Ancoats All Souls, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ancoats All Souls, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Manchester
Registration District Ashton under Lyne; Chorlton; Manchester; Salford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1840
Bishop's Transcripts: 1763
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Manchester
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Chapelry History[edit | edit source]

ANCOATS All Souls, was a "district church, erected in Everystreet, Ancoats, in 1839".[1] It was created from, and lying within the boundaries of Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys, Lancashire. Founded: 1840 Closed: 1984. Chapelry registers may be found in Manchester St Ann, Lancashire parish.

By the year 1880, Ancoats township had at least six chapelries with chapels built within it, and all residing within the parish boundary of, and under the ecclesiastical jurisdiction of Manchester Cathedral (Our Lady, St George & St Denys). To see these chapelries and the years in when they began in operation, scroll down to "Church Records" (Hint: Click the links to view ranges of years with online data available for these chapelry registers of baptisms, marriages and burials.)

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/
for both the post-civil registration time period (after 1837) and especially for finding ancestry in the pre-1837 time period.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Online Records

Ancoats All Souls Chapelry and all its additional contemporary chapelries (5), possessed chapelry registers of baptisms, marriages and burials. These have been indexed or transcribed and are available online at no cost, as follows:

FS =FamilySearch.org
LOPCLancashire Online Parish Clerk
FMP =  findmypast
LBMDLancashire BMD
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
ANCOATS CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1822) Indexes - a dissenters chapel after 1857
Baptisms Marriages Burials
LBMD 1837-1917 None 1837-1882
ANCOATS ALL SOULS Chapelry (1840) Indexes (see also St Ann Manchester pre-1850)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1837-1908 1846-1928 None
LOPC 1840-1876 None None
LBMD 1840-1917 1846-1981 1837-1882
ANCOATS ST ANDREWS Chapelry (1831) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1827-1910 1814-1930 - part.  1831-1855
LOPC 1831-1860 None None
LBMD 1837-1917 1838-1912 1837-1882 
ANCOATS ST JAMES THE LESS Chapelry (1867) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1874-1920 - part. 1871-1930 - part. None Extant 
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1867-1917 1871-1920 1867-1882
ANCOATS ST JUDE Chapelry (1837) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1837-1910 1856-1930 None Extant
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1837-1917 1849-1954 1837-1882
ANCOATS ST MARTIN Chapelry (1865) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1866-1906 1875-1906 None
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1865-1917 1874-1906 1865-1882
ANCOATS ST PETER Chapelry (1860) - see under MANCHESTER ST PETER
   


MANCHESTER ST ANN Chapelry (1736) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1736-1849 1737-1754  1736-1854 
LOPC 1806-1849 None 1777-1854
FREG  None None 1813-1854
LBMD 1837-1881 1838-1976 1837-1881

Ancoats All Souls Chapelry is one of about 150 chapels comprising the whole of Manchester Parish's boundary (by 1880). The 'mother' or ancient parish of Manchester City is Manchester St Mary (Our Lady), St George and St Denys (The Cathedral). See below:

MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes

 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1573-1872 1573-1889 None
LOPC 1573-1616;1777-1837 1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs 1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs
LBMD 1837-1881 1837-1946 1837-1881
AC  1573-1616 1573-1616 1573-1616

If you do not locate your ancestor in the above church registers, and before researching in any other Lancashire parish, you must include a thorough search into all of Manchester City's attached chapelries! Unfortunately, Manchester Cathedral (the parish) is England's largest parish. For a full list of all chapelries and churches in Manchester City, see Manchester, Lancashire Genealogy (scroll down to "Church Records").

Original Records

Bishop's transcripts for All Soul's Church, Manchester, 1763-1847 Microreproduction of original manuscripts housed at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston. FamilySearch has microfilmed the original Bishop's transcripts, 1763, 1810-1845 / Church of England. St. Ann's Church (Manchester).
The church became known as All Soul's Ancoats in 1850. Ancoats is a suburb within Manchester.
Lancashire Record Office: DRM/2/186/4

Content
Film
Baptisms only, 1840-1845.
FHL BRITISH Film
1545619 Item 2

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Manchester Poor Law Union

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 221-247. Adapted. Date accessed: 20 September 2012

Henry Mantell's Article explains the influence of the Dean and Fellows of the Collegiate church on Manchester Parish records.