Manaccan, Cornwall Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Manaccan, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Manaccan, Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kerrier
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Helston
Registration District Helston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1624
Bishop's Transcripts: 1597
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kerrier
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

MANACCAN, or Monathon (St. Menaacus and St. Dunstan), a parish, in the union of Helston, W. division of the hundred of Kerrier and of the county of Cornwall, 7 miles SW by Sfrom Falmouth. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Manaccan parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
CPRI = Cornwall Parish Register Index - free[5]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[6][7][8]
FREG = FreeREG - free[9]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[10]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[11]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[12]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[13]
MANACCAN PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI
1876-1894

BOYD
1597-1812

COPC 1537-1910
1633-1911
1597-1910
CPRI 1813-1902
1754-1901
1597-1790, 1840-1904
FMP 1597-1874 1597-1837 1813-1837
FREG 1813-1900
1633-1905
1813-1904
FS PRs 1597-1900 1597-1905 1597-1904
IGI 1597-1682, 1813-1875 1633-1875
PALL
1800-1812

PRTS 1597-1629, 1667-1673
1597-1628, 1673
1597-1638, 1667-1673

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 135

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites[edit | edit source]

Manaccan in GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 221-247. Date accessed: 06 March 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 21 November 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987).
  4. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 3 December 2013.
  5. 'Database Coverage,' Cornwall Parish Register Index, accessed 1 February 2014.
  6. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  8. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  9. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  10. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  11. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.
  12. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes.
  13. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.